How do you spell "relief"? Day-Off! - Garfield and Tango Travel the Long and Winding Road - CycleBlaze

April 14, 2022

How do you spell "relief"? Day-Off!

Georgia rest day

Boy, my leg muscles were super tight and achy this morning! If I had been back in Denver, I would have just done a really short easy FLAT ride to work out the kinks but there isn't any route I know of here that would allow me to do that. Even the campground roads are hilly. So I guess I'll just keep my feet up and watch the action at the bird feeder. 

I've been amazed at all of the different birds we've seen here and of course watching the antics of the squirrels trying to climb the pole with the slinky is hilarious! They'll look up at the pole, pondering this new contraption, then give it a go, promptly bouncing back to the ground. I can't tell if they are all different squirrels or just one or two hard-headed ones that didn't learn their lesson the first time.

Don's foot was feeling slightly better so he went over to the bathhouse to do a load of laundry. Then at 4 pm, we drove to the carillon to listen to the concert. Unfortunately no one showed up to play it even though the park's website states they have concerts here everyday at this time. Hmmm - maybe not in April?? Guess we'll have to check with a ranger. 

By evening, Don's foot was swollen and sore which meant he'd overdone the walking today. I know he's frustrated as am I because this is not what we'd planned to do here. I hope with more rest that this will resolve and he'll get back to normal dancing and biking.

An unusual looking blossom on this shrub in the park.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltBuckeye. State tree of Ohio. Namesake for Ohio State University. A doctor friend who graduated from OSU told me that buckeyes are just a bunch of worthless nuts of no know value... :-)

https://www.fnps.org/plant/aesculus-pavia
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettThanks Bill. Guess it grows in Georgia too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This Eastern Bluebird seems to be pondering the selection of seed in the feeder.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's tough to take bird pictures since they move so quickly, but the yellow bird is a Goldfinch and I think the other one is a Carolina Chickadee.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wish this one had perched on the side of the basin rather than just sit in the food, but I think it might be a Downy Woodpecker.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can't figure this one out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another bird I couldn't ID. It wouldn't give me a side view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The park is bursting with spring color. From azaleas to dogwoods and crabapple trees. The flower blossom on this crab is different from the ones we have in Colorado. These look like a carnation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Don captured this butterfly by the trailer.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a red spotted purple.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Limenitis_arthemis
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettBut it's not purple! But there are a few red spots.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I believe this is a Tufted Titmouse.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0