The Two Most Beautiful Things I Saw Today - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

September 9, 2022

The Two Most Beautiful Things I Saw Today

It started 70 days ago with the rear wheel of the Pea Soup Green Machine and my feet in the Pacific Ocean. It ended today with the front wheel of the Pea Soup Green Machine and my feet in the Atlantic Ocean. In between we covered 4,500 miles through Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Illinois, Kentucky, Virginia, and North Carolina.  For years it was a dream, three months ago a challenge, and today an accomplished reality. 

About those two most beautiful things I saw today… unquestionably number one was Michele (Mrs G) standing on the beach as I arrived to officially complete my journey, and number two was the Pea Soup Green Machine standing in the Atlantic Ocean. 

It has been an absolutely life impacting adventure that would have never been possible without Michele’s support, encouragement, and patience. She endured all the pre-planning talk, the planning, she traveled to Oregon for the start, to Breckinridge, to Pueblo, to somewhere in Kansas, and finally to the Outer Banks of NC for the end, and she patiently listened every day to the recap of the ride (often in excruciating and probably boring detail). Mrs G, I love you and can’t thank you enough for letting me take this journey. 

Thank you…

  • To all the people I met along the way who opened your hearts, homes, and dinner tables
  • To all of you who provided as frequent as daily encouragement through phone calls, emails, and texts
  • To all of you who followed my blog and shared my experiences virtually 

Over the past few months, I’ve  learned so many things about myself and our country. Most memorable is that we do live in a great country populated by amazingly proud, resilient, kind, and generous people.   There are infinitely more good people than not-so-good people. And we are far more the same than we are different. The divisions between us while real are often the result of us not taking the time to understand and experience life from the perspective of others. This journey opened my eyes and I encourage each of you (and you to encourage others) to actively engage with people  who look, sound, think, and/or believe differently than you and find ways to unite (versus divide) America. 

I hope you’ve enjoyed my daily musings and that they have inspired you to do something audacious now versus waiting for a day that may never come. 

Hey Little e and Zekey, Oshi did it. I’m coming home and I expect lots and lots of hugs and kisses. 

Ian

PS.  For the record, I had exactly zero flats along the way…but thanks for asking 😉

Me and the Pea Soup Green Machine in the Pacific Ocean on July 2, 2022 at the start in Seaside,Oregon
Heart 7 Comment 0
Me and the Pea Soup Green Machine in the Atlantic Ocean on September 9, 2022 at the finish on Oregon Ave. in Kill Devil Hills, NC
Heart 6 Comment 0
Just another view…a bit more of a close up
Heart 5 Comment 0
Me and Mrs G at the beach in Kill Devil Hills, NC. She was with me at the start and at the finish…and in my heart every day in between
Heart 6 Comment 0
The street sign of the beach access road in Kill Devil Hills, NC
Heart 6 Comment 0
My niece Melinda and the sign she made to celebrate my journey!
Heart 8 Comment 0
The physical welcoming committee…if you look real close, you can see all of you who have followed my journey and provided virtual support and good wishes along the way
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 13 miles (21 km)
Total: 13 miles (21 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Max GordonWay to go Pops!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettCongratulations on an epic adventure. Unless I forgot (it happens) somehow we (Corey, Mark, and I) didn't see you. Looks like we crossed paths somewhere near Ochoco Pass? Anyway, I've been following along since I got home from my ride. (Journaled on here after the fact). Well done!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gary NuttWay to go, man-who-lives-down-the-street. After hanging with you for several months, and hearing your plan, I never for a nanosecond thought you wouldn't succeed! However, I still felt compelled to read your blog every day, to follow you on the map, and to offer some comments from the peanut gallery (it still amazes me that you rode the PGS within 15'-20' of a house where I lived from 1944-1954.) I am so happy, but not surprised, that you finished this thing. That is one of the reasons that your are a buddy, not just a man down the street. Let's celebrate after you get back to Superior, and have some time to recover.
GN
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mike AylingIan, you must share the brand, model and size of those tyres!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltNice journal! Enjoyed the trip.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Julie MeyerSo very happy to be part of the crew that sent you off from Seaside, Oregon and have loved the journey thru your eyes. Take care and enjoy those boys (both big and little). And yes, you are so very blessed to have that amazing woman cheering you on. Much love from the Meyers.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith Adams Congratulations and well done! I enjoyed the time we spent together in Montana.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Beth ArtThank you for enabling us your readers to follow along on your journey. I for one have found it very difficult to keep regular journal entries for a 3 month tour. I have enjoyed reading your journal each day and especially looking at your photos. Thank you again and congratulations on reaching the Atlantic Ocean. A great achievement.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierCongratulations!! I’ve really enjoyed your journal. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauWell done, Pea Soup Green Machine. You too, Ian.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonTo Mike AylingSurly ExtraTerestrials. They were 46mm
Reply to this comment
1 year ago