It Was a Wind Day…Wind River That Is - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2022

It Was a Wind Day…Wind River That Is

Best breakfast place in all of Dubois, WY.
Heart 3 Comment 0
One of many different rock formations seen on the Reservation. This one is on the south side of RT 287.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another part of the formation above.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Looking north leaving Dubois, WY
Heart 5 Comment 2
Dana PalmerWow! Gorgeous. Is that stone mountains with no vegetation?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonIt is. I think it’s called Painted Hills but not sure.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Leaving Dubois, WY and before we entered the Reservation.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was an interesting change in the landscape. Instead of looking up, I was looking down into a small valley like segment of the landscape
Heart 3 Comment 0
I can’t remember exactly where this was but it was on the Reservation and another example of the changing landscape. Found it…looking north about 24 miles into the Reservation.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I don’t know what the formation is I just know it was east of where we were riding on the Reservation.
Heart 4 Comment 0
On the Reservation looking southwest. I like the clouds and another road to wherever your imagination takes you.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Looking west on RT 287 still on the Reservation but close to the point at which we left.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Today’s version of a barn as seen on the Wind River Indian Reservation.
Heart 4 Comment 0
On RT 287 in the Wind River Indian Reservation looking back north from where we came. Looks like forever huh?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tim @Gannett Peak Sports. He was great and dropped everything to help us.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Just look at all of those people milling around…think we’ll get a seat?  That was what we were thinking when we rolled up to the Cowboy Cafe. Clearly the hottest breakfast spot in Dubois, WY.  Fortunately we got a seat right away and quickly understood why there was a crowd. I got two chocolate chip pancakes the size of my bike tires (ok a slight exaggeration but I could only eat one and a third and that was forcing myself).  I know, I know poor Ian. Dan had a somewhat healthier but still huge meal (and he ate it all). 

Within about 10 miles of leaving Dubois, WY. We entered the Wind River Indian Reservation and spent all but another 5 miles on the reservation. Like all the reservations I have visited, the landscape was spectacular. The landscape here seemed to change about every 10 miles. I have lots of pictures. In fact I spent most of the day chasing Dan because I kept stopping to take pictures and he kept riding on.  Before I forget, we also passed the National Military Vehicle Museum before we entered the Reservation. It was too early to go inside, but I hear it is really  cool. 

As I mentioned yesterday, the route was mostly downhill/flat with a  couple of climbs (nothing big enough to talk about).  Good to have that kind of course every now and again.  

When we got to Lander, WY we stopped for lunch and then at a local bike shop (Gannett Peak Sports). Tim, the mechanic dropped everything to help us out. Nothing major but he said that is their  standard operating procedure for people touring via bicycle. They also offered us free ice cream and beer (I passed because I’m getting fat with all the eating we’re  doing, but Dan took the ice cream). 

Camping tonight at Sleeping Bear RV and Campsite. Nice enough but nothing like Colter Bay. 

Sign of the day is the Indian Reservation sign. I saw a funnier one but chose not to stop…again. And I have a barn of the day picture. Technically one might argue that it’s not a barn, but he who has the pen makes the rules (fyi…I have the pen). 

Counting down the days until we see our wives and then a few days later Mike, Sharon, Little e, and Zeke (and the wives again). 

Bye for now. 

Ian

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 2,952 miles (4,751 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Michele GordonThanks Tim for giving a quick check up on the pea soup green machine ……and of course keeping my e safe 😊
Reply to this comment
1 year ago