Hey Trucks…Do You Know It’s Sunday - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2022

Hey Trucks…Do You Know It’s Sunday

Sunrise in Jeffrey City, WY
Heart 10 Comment 0
One more shout out to the Church. Looking beautiful at sunrise.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sunrise with Split Rock in the background.
Heart 9 Comment 0
The actual Spit Rock as seen coming out of Jeffrey City.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Split Rock monument. Educational opportunity.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Random scenery.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The long and not so winding road.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Left church early today…no we didn’t walk out on the sermon.  Remember we slept in the basement of the Jeffrey City Community Church. It was a beautiful morning and the sunrise required a picture. Yes I’ll share.  Breakfast was whatever we had with us…Dan eats oatmeal and fruit and nuts me, peanut butter on a banana and some misc stuff that probably isn’t good for me.  Next real food didn’t happen until we reached Rawlins, WY (the destination for the day) at around 11:30am or so. 

Today’s route as you know was a continuation of a ride through the abyss. It was mostly flat to downhill with two climbs. Both of the climbs brought us to a Continental Divide crossing (only one had a sign). Everyday I write about the scenery, but today it’s a little different. Took some pictures early, but for most of the ride things didn’t change much. 

Maybe the coolest part of the scenery was Split Rock. I’ll share some pictures and an educational opportunity too. The second thing I wish I had a picture of is the lead in to the second climb. We were tortured looking straight ahead at the climb for over 6 miles. It seemed to take forever to get there. The climb was about 5.5 miles long up to 7,174 feet of elevation. I don’t have a picture because the run into the climb was downhill and I just didn’t want to scrub all of my speed to stop…sorry.

So about those trucks…what the heck!  I swear every licensed 18 wheeler, the double long ones, and the ones carrying wide loads were on RT 287 in Wyoming between Jeffrey City and Rawlins. It was like that song Convoy… we got a great big convoy. Ain’t she a beautiful sight? Come on and join our convoy. Ain’t  nothin' gonna get in our way. We  gonna roll this truckin' convoy' where Ian and Dan are riding today 😳. Come on guys it’s Sunday! 

Sign of the day is the Continental Divide sign and as I said in yesterday’s blog, no barn. 

Bye for now

Ian

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 2,818 miles (4,535 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
George HallI just discovered your journal and I'm loving it - I have read through and caught up now. In 2015 I followed the same route you are on now when I rode the Transam - took many of the same pictures and stayed in some of the same places. I'm glad your time at the church in Jeffrey City was good - I had a much different experience and it would probably amuse you to read about it; https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/buddy/day-65-lander-to-jeffrey-city-wy-whos-afraid-of-a-spooky-church-3b0/ . The ride from Jeffrey City to Rawlins was the hardest day of the entire trip for me due to horrible winds - when you encounter the Appalachian Mountains you will realize what a strong statement that is! Best of luck, I'll be following along every day now,

Buddy Hall
Reply to this comment
1 year ago