Colorado Family Reunion (Sans Max) - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2022

Colorado Family Reunion (Sans Max)

Oshi, Mimi, and the little guys hanging (ok freezing) in the pool.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sharon and Mike. I chose the non-funny face picture because it so rare to get Mike to cooperate.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Oshi and Zekey.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Zekey was spinning me as fast as he could.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Little Ian climbing the wall.
Heart 5 Comment 0
And going down the slide.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Clearly walking is optional when Mimi and Oshi are around.
Heart 7 Comment 0

As I mentioned in the previous blog, 8/7 was a planned rest day. It wasn’t so much that I needed a rest, I really just wanted to see my family.  I got to see Mrs G in Breckinridge and then she picked me up in Pueblo.  And of course she was part of the send off crew in Seaside, OR.  But I haven’t seen Mike, Sharon, little Ian, or Zeke since we flew home from our beach vacation (June 25th). And I won’t be seeing Dr Max (my other son), until I reach NC. 

So yesterday was play in the pool, play at the playground and then grab lunch with the family. The kids were ready to hit the pool before they were out of their car seats. It took me a little longer to get ready as I had a small wardrobe malfunction. You know how clothes that hang in your closet seem to shrink?  Well my swim trunks did the opposite…they grew!  I had to find a safety pin to avoid a public nudity event (didn’t want to scar the kids or other peoples’ kids who were at the pool).  We spent a full, sunless hour in the pool and had a blast. 

Off to the playground…I totally forgot how dizzy you get on a merry-go-round.  The little boys “kept me spinning, didn’t think I’d ever get off” (bonus points if you know the artist who wrote those lyrics and the song). Pretty sure it was payback for the dunking I gave them in the pool. 

After the kids left, had some bike maintenance work done, then dinner with Mrs G, and off to bed.  Need to be rested for tomorrow’s ride. 

Adding pictures and then off to write tomorrow’s (it’s really today’s) blog. 

Ian

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jim MeadowsSo happy that you had wonderful family time! Love reading your blogs.
Stay safe, enjoy the adventure and thanks for sharing it with us.
Oh, and Bruce would be pleased that you quoted lyrics from his 4th of July, Asbury Park memories with Sandy.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonDing, ding, ding…extra bonus points for Jim!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago