I’m Going To Need Your Help On This One - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2022

I’m Going To Need Your Help On This One

Happy Birthday Mrs G. Sorry I wasn’t there to celebrate with you, but I was thinking about you throughout the whole ride (and it was a “LFD”). 

Today I took a total of zero pictures. There were a few reasons for that. First, it was a long ride and I was concerned that I was going to get caught in the rain. Second, there seemed to be a continuous wind and I was worried that if I stopped too much I’d lose momentum and motivation to go the distance today. And finally, this is where you come in…

Today's ride began in Pueblo, CO and ended in Eads, CO. Along the way I rode through a couple of real towns but mostly pseudo-towns and/or wide open country.  Boone  (20 miles out) had a convenience store, Ordway (50 miles out) had a great bakery that also served breakfast, and then nothing until Eads (112 miles out). Towns like Haswell were thought to have services but as has been the case so often, the services were shuttered.   As for the wide open space…

Ok…close your eyes (not really at least not now or how are you going to be able to read what’s next). For over 60 miles what was ahead was the same thing that was behind and the same thing in the middle. Looking left I saw the yellow line on the road, then the white line, and then the railroad tracks. Looking to the right I saw the white line on the road, then those pretty, little, wild sunflowers, and then telephone poles. Ok now you can close your eyes and visualize what I didn’t take pictures of. 

That’s all I’ve got for today. Tomorrow I’ll try and find some things to take pictures of. The ride will be a bit shorter, but still relatively long…still I’ll try to get back of the photo-journal path. 

Ian

Today's ride: 112 miles (180 km)
Total: 2,350 miles (3,782 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith AdamsThat's a tough day of riding. Glad you made it through.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gary NuttAfter a nice break day with family, this day was something else: I don't know exactly what LFD is in your vocabulary, but who hah! 112 miles in wind, no towns until Eads, CO. Check off another state!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonLong friggin day 😉
Reply to this comment
1 year ago