The Beginning - Back to Beginnings - CycleBlaze

The Beginning

It all began just over seventy years ago in New York City. My parents were both WWII veterans who migrated to NYC after attending college on the GI Bill. They met during a party at my Dad's apartment in Greenwich Village - and spent the rest of the evening engrossed in conversation while ignoring their respective dates. After a whirlwind romance, they tied the knot and welcomed me into the world in September, 1951. In celebration of my 70th year, I am returning to the city of my birth this June to launch my next cycle tour – a journey across the Empire State by bike and train.

Earliest photo of me on bike - circa 1955
Heart 7 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Scott AndersonIt looks like we’ll be about three weeks behind you. We’ll have to pay heed and see what we can learn. And thanks for reminding me that the Finger Lakes are back there. I’ll have to go back to the planning board and find a way to fit them in.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kathleen JonesCan you leave a little earlier? Don't want to wait almost 2 months until you're on the road. 🤣
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bob DistelbergAlthough I've lived the last 24 years or so in other places, I spent the first 40 years of my life in upstate NY. So I'm excited to follow along on this trip.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonHi Scott - yes, it seems that there may be a few Cycle Blazers exploring upstate New York this year. Sorry to miss you and Rachel - it would be fun to meet some day. I think you would enjoy the Finger Lakes region, and perhaps a visit to Cornell Lab of Ornithology in Ithaca. The Visitor Center is closed (at the moment), but trails through Sapsucker Woods are open.
I look forward to your upcoming trip, especially through MN and WI - are you planning on going through the Driftless area of WI?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kathleen JonesThanks Kathleen - I also can't wait for the trip to begin!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Bob DistelbergHello Bob - thanks for your comment. It's always fascinating to see how others view your home territory. I'd welcome any "don't miss" tips or recommendations from a native Upstater.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Susan CarpenterI hadn’t heard of the driftless area before, but love the evocative name. We’re still debating alternatives, but I think we’ll just skirt its northern edge. We’re looking at biking east to Door County via Chippewa Falls and Green Bay, and then crossing on the ferry to Ludington. And I’m pretty sure that the Finger Lakes will grab on to our route and pull us south, now that you’ve pointed them out for us.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Paul MulveyHave a great ride. I mapped out a route which matches about 98% of what you have here. I was really looking forward to the walkway across the Hudson coming from manhattan to Albany. I look forward to reading about your experiences.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterThanks Paul - I enjoyed reading about your 2017 trip along the canal and appreciate all the resources you've provided on the glacierbandits site. Hope you and your wife have a good ride down the Hudson Valley.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago