The Plan - Back to Beginnings - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2021

The Plan

My cycle tours in Europe have always involved a bit of train travel along with the cycling – a combination I find very appealing. It’s more difficult to do this in the United States, where the passenger train network is quite limited. I did manage to add a train leg on last summer’s tour on the Katy Trail, but needed a car to travel from my home in Iowa to the train/trail hub in Sedalia, MO.

I moved to the Raleigh/Durham area in North Carolina last fall and now have an Amtrak station located in my home town – a mere three minutes by bike from my house. I’ve stopped by the station several times for extended conversations with the station agents about traveling on Amtrak with a bike. They’ve been especially helpful in my understanding all the different “bike rules” for the various trains/stations, especially in figuring out on which trains you can take your assembled bike without needing to off the front wheel – a requirement to fit in the new bike racks that Amtrak has decided to use. Armed with this knowledge, I devised a car-free itinerary for this Empire State tour.

Amtrak Station, Cary NC
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Carolinian, headed to New York City
Heart 2 Comment 0

The plan for this upcoming tour is to take the train from Cary, NC to New York City, the place of my birth. I’ll spend a couple of days in the city exploring some of my parent’s old haunts and visiting family, including a distant cousin who contacted me through a genealogy search. I’ll start cycling in lower Manhattan, following the Hudson River Greenway to Albany where I'll board the Empire Service to Buffalo. After a day checking out Buffalo and Niagara Falls, I'll cycle east to Albany, generally following the Erie Canal Trail with a detour through Finger Lakes to visit friends in Ithaca. The journey home – Albany to NYC to North Carolina – will be by train. I've purchased the outbound tickets and reserved bike space, planning to roll out from home on the morning of June 5.

Vivien George and Vincent, my trusted steed and knit-buddy, will join me on what promises to be an most enjoyable reconnection with family, friends and a bit of history. We're all very excited to be touring again!!!

Vincent strapped in and ready for a new adventure
Heart 1 Comment 0
Susan, Vincent, and Vivien George near Luzech, France, 2019
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Susan GiovanniNiagara Falls are spectacular! What an exciting and balanced trip you have planned. Great photos
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Scott AndersonInteresting plan, breaking it up with a train ride in the middle. What day will you arrive in Buffalo?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonSounds like an excellent plan! Bon voyage! I'm looking forward to your journal.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Paul MulveyLooking forward to your trip. I have one in my back
Oh very similar to this, only it’s westbound from Manhattan to buffalo, with ongoing service to Erie and Pittsburgh before heading back to Georgia.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonHi Scott. The plan is to get to Buffalo the evening Sat Jun 12 and depart on the Erie Canal Trail Monday morning the 14th. It depends on me making it Albany on Sat in time for the 1 pm train to Buffalo, and no Amtrak snafus.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonThanks Suzanne. Not sure things will go as smoothly as taking the Deutsche Bahn, but we'll hope for the best!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Susan CarpenterOoh, so close! We’ll only be about a month behind you. We’ll read your blog and take notes.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Paul MulveyThanks Paul
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonMaybe we’ll cross paths this fall in Europe. I’m heading over in September with plans of crossing the Alps - twice!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Karen CookCar free trips are the best! Have a great ride.
Karen
Reply to this comment
2 years ago