Vicenza and Venice - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2021 to September 28, 2021

Vicenza and Venice

Vicenza and Venice deserve so very much more than what I was able to offer, especially Venice. Though each city is in rich in art, architecture, and history, I did not visit any museums or go into any of the elegant buildings. I was a flanneur, a wanderer of city streets, and can share only snippets of each city.

 Vincenza

Vicenza is well-known for the buildings and nearby villas designed by the 16th century architect Andrea Palladio. On this late September Monday morning, many of the museums were closed. Consequently, I spent most of my time exploring the streets of central Vicenza and searching for a new wallet to replace the sandwich baggie I’d been using since Mondsee. It was a morning of mixed success – it lacked a detailed look at some what Vicenza has to offer, but gave me inspiring architecture, bursts of color, a new change purse.

Andrea Palladio
Heart 2 Comment 0
Basilica Palladiana, with trucks and workers
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Olympic Theater - closed for today
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sneak peak inside the grounds of the Olympic Theater
Heart 5 Comment 0
Palazzo Chiericati with crane. The former is another of the Palladio wonders that grace Vicneza.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Piazza del Sigorni
Heart 4 Comment 0
Colors of Vicenza
Heart 5 Comment 0
I especially loved the yellow buildings
Heart 3 Comment 0
My new change purse
Heart 1 Comment 0

Venice

By one pm, I was on a train to Venice. I emerged from the Saint Lucia station and for the next twenty-four hours remained in a perpetual state of awe at this jewel of a city. I was mesmerized by both its beauty and its blemishes, admiring the majesty and the mundane.

It started with the Great Canal – a vaporetta ride from the train station stop at Ferrovia took me around the canal to Accademia, near where I’d booked a hotel based on the forum advice from fellow CBers (good call). I was torn between just soaking it all in, or taking pictures while trying to maintain my balance and not toss my camera into the canal. Mostly I just soaked.

Along the Grand Canal - Ferrovia to Accademia  

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Did not expect to see kayakers on the Grand Canal
Heart 4 Comment 0
There was ample evidence of damage caused by the disastrous floods of 2019
Heart 2 Comment 0
And of course there were gondoliers
Heart 5 Comment 0

After checking in, I stopped for a quick bite to eat and then headed to St. Mark’s Place – Piazza San Marco - getting thoroughly lost along the way. Getting lost in the network of small streets of Venice is inevitable, so I relaxed, enjoyed the experience, and eventually found myself in the Piazza San Marco – one the crown jewels of Venice. I spent almost two hours in and around the Piazza, - venturing down to canal and people watching while enjoying an ice cream with coffee at the posh Caffè Florian. By the time I left, the late afternoon sun cast a shimmering light over the square.

In and around Piazza San Marco 

Piazza San Marco was delightfully uncrowded, a consequence of Covid and a cruise ship ban. And not so many pigeons either
Heart 6 Comment 0
St. Mark's Basilica
Heart 5 Comment 0
A detail on the front of St. Mark's Basilica
Heart 3 Comment 0
St. Mark's Basilica
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
St. Theodor, the first patron saint of Venice, stands atop a dragon he has just slain
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking across to San Giorgio Maggiore
Heart 4 Comment 0
Doge's Palace, St Mark's Square
Heart 4 Comment 0
Doge's Palace
Heart 6 Comment 0
Time for a treat
Heart 3 Comment 0
St Mark's Basilica in the late afternoon sun
Heart 4 Comment 0
Until we meet again
Heart 0 Comment 0

The next morning, I’d planned to visit the Peggy Guggenheim Collection but my unfortunate streak of museum closings continued. Overwhelmed with choices, I instead conceded that this was not the time to “do” Venice but rather a time to flavor Venice – by now it was clear that this was a city I’d visit again. I spent the morning and early afternoon meandering the maze of small passageways that often ended at the canal or a small courtyard. I was enchanted by color and brief glimpses into the lives of Venetians, both the well-to-do and the common folks. 

Canals and other fancies

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left Venice a mere twenty-four hours after I'd first glimpsed the Grand Canal. I echo the chorus of CBers who have encouraged one to visit Venice - if even for a brief taste. 

For now, I am on a bicycle tour and tomorrow I will continue south towards Bologna.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Jacquie GaudetWow! I am so looking forward to Venice, even though it will be the end of our long-awaited tour of northern Italy. I hope the cruise ship ban lasts until then!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonI’m so glad you made it there, and at such a quiet time. Wonderful that you got such beautiful weather for it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetI really hope you enjoy Venice as well as Northern Italy - I've been having a blast. I'll be looking forward to your trip.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonI'm really glad I was able to fit Venice in - thanks for being one of the voices of encouragement!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierSuch great pictures! I’m so glad you had a good visit. I think walking around soaking in the atmosphere was the right choice for a short visit. I’m torn between nostalgia and jealousy looking at the city again. Lucky you!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonGlad you made it to Venice! Sorry the museum was closed, but the 2 times we were there we enjoyed wandering around the best.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Marie-Christine DUBOSCQVenise is such a good memory for me! I am glad you took the time to go there and enjoy it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago