To Vicenza - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

September 26, 2021

To Vicenza

A short ride to Vicenza – my jumping off point to Venice

I hadn’t planned on visiting Venice on this tour – though I’d never been there. I knew I couldn’t bring my bike into the city, so logistics were an issue. Also, there has been a lot of chatter about how the mass of tourists is straining resources in this fragile city, and that one should instead visit other charming and interesting cities of the Veneto. So, I included Vicenza and Verona on my tour route. But Venice is unique, and at present the crowds are greatly reduced due to Covid and a ban on cruise ships. What finally convinced me were the responses on the CB Forum to Jacquie Gaudet’s question on visiting Venice. I resolved to go, but first I would have to get to Vicenza. That was the task for today.

It was a short ride down to Vicenza, with rain predicted for around 2 pm. I decided I had ample time to first explore a bit of Bassano del Grappa – it looked to be a pretty interesting city on my way in yesterday. The city was hopping this sunny Sunday morning. In addition to the market in the Piazza Libertá, there was a running event/race that coursed through the Ponte Vecchio, my route out of town. A narrow passageway across the bridge remained open to the public, and Vivien George and I carefully made our way through the cheering crowds and across the Brenta River. Once across, we were serenaded by a chorus of men dressed in matching red flannel shirts and feathered caps, likely an homage to the nearby statue of a kissing boy and girl. It was a lovely start to the day.

Porta Dieda, just outside my guesthouse
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Market day in Piazza Libertá
Heart 4 Comment 0
Market day in Piazza Libertá
Heart 1 Comment 0
Runner cheered on as they pass through the Ponte Vecchio
Heart 3 Comment 0
Crossing the Brenta River
Heart 5 Comment 0
Music is in the air
Heart 1 Comment 0
A heartfelt song
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Kiss - one of Bassano del Grappo's famous monuments
Heart 1 Comment 0

Bassano del Grappa was not the only town celebrating on this Sunday in late September. About six miles into the ride I entered the town of Marostica, in the midst of its own summer festival. The town is well known for its biennial live chess tournament held in September of even numbered years, but this is 2021. While there was no live chess tournament, there was a lot of activity associated with the summer festival, including an organ grinder pumping out some lively tunes. It certainly was a day for music!

Entering Marostica - It's not every day that you enter a town through a tower
Heart 5 Comment 0
The music maker
Heart 3 Comment 0
It looks like there will be some live entertainment at the Marostica Summer Festival - but I won't hang around to enjoy it
Heart 1 Comment 0
And there's another tower on the way out of town
Heart 3 Comment 0

After all the excitement of the morning, the rest of the ride to Vicenza was fairly unremarkable. The sky was clouding up and rain threatened as I cycled along quiet roads that zig-zagged through small towns and corn fields. Even I, a fan of farm fields, was unmoved by the country landscape – perhaps it was the grayness of the day or the impending rain.

On the way to Vicenza
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the way to Vicenza - but it almost looks like France
Heart 4 Comment 0
The colors of fall
Heart 4 Comment 0

 In fact, the rains came early. I had dawdled too long enjoying the morning sunshine and songfests (no regrets) and consequently got caught in some light showers. Putting on my rain jacket helped stave off the downpour, and I made it to Vicenza before heavy rains began. It was a real downpour by the time I ventured out for dinner at a nearby Ecuadoran restaurant, and I was forced to turn back and settle for kabob and fries from the little stand across the street. In all, I spent most of the afternoon and evening hunkered down in my hotel room doing some journaling and looking up “things to do in Venice”. The plan is to explore Vicenza in the morning and then do Venice in a 24-hour whirlwind. Stay tuned.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 474 miles (763 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jacquie GaudetI'm looking forward to reading about your whirlwind tour of Venice. I've booked two nights there.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago