Two weeks out / Chanticleer Point - The Road to Rome, Part One: America - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2021

Two weeks out / Chanticleer Point

Two weeks out

With only two weeks until departure, we’re really getting down to last minute tasks.  We can almost mentally count off the days and what will happen on each of them: a couple of medical diagnostic test appointments for Rachael; a follow up checkup at the dentist and a haircut for myself; a final driving lesson for Elizabeth; a long-deferred meeting with the HAC group; a road trip to Seattle to finally visit my parents for the first time in over a year; continue scanning and keying in some old journals and photos I found in storage; visit our favorite restaurants one last time; and sort and pack.

The other thing we’ve been occupying our time with though is locking in some dates for stays on the road.  It finally occurred to us that it’s probably too optimistic to just show up in Door County and the Finger Lakes District and hope to find suitable lodging.  It’s time consuming, but we’ve made bookings at what look like the most vulnerable parts of the ride to New York.  We’ve gone as far as we think we need to on this first half of the tour and have moved on to part 2, the hoped for ride from Amsterdam to Rome.  With every passing day it seems more and more likely that travel will be possible, and that we’ll find hoards of others with the same idea competing with us for lodging.

Chanticleer Point

We’re off today for one of our favorite longer rides from home, the 62 mile round trip to Chanticleer Point up east of Troutdale at the entrance to the Columbia Gorge.  This is the the ride we started on almost two weeks ago when we were stalled by a phone call from the clinic to schedule an appointment for one of Rachael’s diagnostic tests.  We’re lucky it worked out that way, because that day was overcast and chilly but today is just brilliant.

Chanticleer Point is a stunning viewpoint, but it’s also a great destination for day rides from Portland.  For the route we take, we bike north to the Columbia River and then follow it east for about 12 miles until coming to Troutdale.  From there it’s a beautiful five mile ride along the bank of the meandering Sandy River and then about another five miles climbing to the top of the plateau east of Corbett.

Returning home, we begin with that five mile descent back to the Sandy - fast, winding, and always one that makes you just a bit insecure from the traffic and lack of a shoulder.  After that the character of the ride always depends on the winds - today, as is normal, we bike into a west wind for about fifteen miles before finally leaving the river and turning south toward downtown and home.

It’s a beautiful ride, but not as fine as it’s been in the past.  Like everywhere near downtown it’s blighted by vast, sprawling homeless camps.  Two areas are particularly appalling now - along the Columbia east of the Glenn Jackson Bridge there’s a solid encampment strung east along the river of tents, RV’s, broken down vehicles, and trash; and about a half mile stretch on NE 33rd looks to me like nothing so much as a war zone.  When traffic permits I bike down the center of the two lane road rather than veer to close to the shoulder.  

For several years now Rachael has been observing how much fun I’ve had and glory I’ve been showered with by biking my age in miles each year.  She’s finally feeling left out enough that she wants in too, so she instructs me to make sure that this ride clocks in at 62 miles.  Done!  Rah, rah, Rocky!

On Evans Road, the steepest part of the climb to Chanticleer Point.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Rachael’s been after me to try out the climbing page on our new Garmins. It works great! I especially like the metrics on remaining ascent and distance, and average remaining grade.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The view east up the gorge from Chanticleer Point must be one of the most famous viewpoints in the state. There’s always a crowd here, typically international.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Admiring a familiar and much-loved view. We’re so lucky to have such a clear day to be up here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Demonstrating one way, but not the recommended way, to wear a sweat band under your helmet. Better than letting the band cover your eyes at least, but other options are possible.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
I was here too.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along Bell Road there’s a broad field of lupines in full bloom. I don’t remember seeing this before, but it’s been a really long time since we’ve been here this late in the spring.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Along Bell Road.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Hydration stop on the Marine Drive bike path.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
There’s still a lot of snow up there for this late in the spring, but it’s disappearing fast. We’re in an epic drought year, with possibly another awful fire season ahead.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ride stats today: 62 miles, 2,300’

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Gregory GarceauI guess I'm a couple months younger than Rocky. I'll be 62 in July, but haven't ridden my age in almost two years. Inspired by the glory you two have achieved, I'm gonna do it . . . soon. I hope I can keep up with you guys when you come to MN.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierLove that ride. Thanks for the memories again, Scott!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergTo Gregory GarceauHmmm yeah, I'm a little worried about that too when they head through my area. I better head out for another training ride now.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jen RahnTo Gregory GarceauAssuming that the 'ceau' Garceau rhymes with crow ..

Team Anderson rides with Garceau
In Minnesota, not far from Bordeaux
Sixty-two miles?
As with Rachael's great styles?
Or will Gregory call in a tow?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jen RahnThanks for the limerick, Mrs. Grumby. I have a trifecta for you in reply:

You are correct in that "ceau" rhymes with "crow,"
But you need to know, I'm not near Bordeaux,
I don't mean to cause duress,
Minnesota's in the U.S.
My state does have a few wineries though.

At this time I need to make a correction,
In regard to my Anderson connection,
Rachael is younger than me,
In July I'll be sixty-three,
In contrast to my previous recollection.

"I will never, EVER call in a tow," says me.
"I'm a Tough Guy--even at age sixty-three."
"I can ride as far as they can,"
At least that's my hopeful plan,
If not, I'll fake like I have a sore knee.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jen RahnTo Gregory GarceauBravo!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Gregory GarceauGreat limerick but in an earlier comment you said you’d be 62. What year were you born?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory Garceau1958. I'll be 63 in July.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago