GPHQ 11: Newberry Road - The Road to Rome, Part One: America - CycleBlaze

May 13, 2021

GPHQ 11: Newberry Road

Yesterday 

With all of the principals now vaccinated, the time had finally come for us to fire up the Raven for a road trip south for some long overdue reunions.  With a full day ahead of us, we left home early and drove to Silverton to visit the Grumbys, who we last saw nearly a year ago when they joined us for a socially distant tour of the covered bridges of Linn County.

A lot has happened in the meantime, in their lives and ours.  Their big news is that their new home is completed and they’ve moved in since we were here last.  It was just a shell when we first saw it last March, just days before the Covid crisis hit Oregon and the world started shutting down; but now it’s beautiful, warm and homey.  As are it’s occupants.

Image not found :(
So great to see Jen after all these months. It’s closing in on a year now.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Much has changed since we were here last. Rachael looks on approvingly, happy to see that they’ve chosen her favorite color.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Step into my parlor, . . . .
Heart 2 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Team Anderson and the undaunted Grumbys, reunited!
Heart 4 Comment 1
Jen RahnWhat a great visit!! Thanks again for coming down.

Looking forward to seeing your photos with Gregory and Bob.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The fearsome foursome, vaccinated and unmasked. Covid, pah!!
Heart 4 Comment 0
I caught the womenfolk looking my way, staring and chortling. I have no idea what they found so humorous.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Jen RahnWho needs a headband to keep your hair in place when you can use your glasses?!

I'm so glad you waited on the haircut.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The ruthless Raven renders Ron ridiculous, swiftly slashing him down to size.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Jen RahnThe torso-less Mr. Grumby!!

And to whom do those large nearby calves belong?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnI thought about pointing out those thundering calves but was too shy to.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

A few hours later we piled in the Raven again and drove on to Salem for a second reunion with three other long-standing friends: Lynn, who we last saw at her home in Eugene on our way south to Chico last November; Frank, who I think I last saw two summers ago when I drove down for a haircut from my old barber before leaving for Iberia; and Frank’s wife Julie, who we haven’t seen in so long that I can’t remember now when it was.

We met in Frank and Julie’s back yard under a canopy sheltering us from the sun and spent the rest of the afternoon catching up on each others’ lives.  It’s been too long, and hopefully won’t be so long until the next time.  Inexplicably though, I failed to pull out the camera.

Today

I’m not antisocial exactly, but I’m definitely well off on the introverted end of the scale.  And after a full year of near isolation, I’m out of practice at socializing.  All that work yesterday keeping up my corner of a conversation wore me out a bit, so I took it easy today.  After hiding out at the coffee shop for a while, I biked out Leif Erickson Drive and up to Skyline for another hill video, this time dropping down Newberry Road.  It was a pretty lazy effort though.  I didn’t bike too hard, I didn’t stop often for photographs because it sounded like too much work, and now I’m not even going to say much about it either.

Do enjoy the video though.  It’s a great and speedy descent, dropping 800’ in two miles.

This week on Vaughn Street.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This plant has developed a bit since we saw it last. Bill: does it still look like fringecup?
Heart 2 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltYes. Zoom in on the 3rd flower down from the top, and its distinctive shape is clear. However, that should be taken with room for error. I've never seen one in person, but it sure matches images!

https://www.wnps.org/native-plant-directory/27-tellima-grandiflora
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Bill ShaneyfeltCan confirm. Definitely a tellima grandiflora.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Andrea BrownThanks for chiming in! I'm not an expert by any means. I just have a long-forgotten 1960s college Botany course to go with a good internet to search images for comparison. I'm a bit better on the Zoology side, but once out of the desert, that's also questionable. Glad to have others looking! Especially when you actually know something...
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Amazing that after living around it most of my life I’ve never really noticed the erect growth pattern and opposing leaves of nettles. Some of these stalks are taller than I am. They remind me of a Japanese pagoda somehow.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltWear gloves if you collect them... But they are quite nutritious when cooked. Taste is pretty good too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Video sound track: Ballad of Pancho Villa, by Vince Guaraldi and Bolo Sete.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Jen RahnSo great to see you and Rachael and hear more of your stories.

I especially loved your quotable quote "It's just a plan; it's not a commitment."

Your ability to adapt to changing circumstances (always with positivity and openness!) never ceases to amaze me.

I was to be like you and Rachael when I grow up!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Andrea BrownI wore out two sets of brakes commuting to Skyline School on Newberry Road. But it was always beautiful.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownI knew you’d worked up at that school, but I’ve never heard tha you commuted up there by bike. Quite a trek!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Scott AndersonHARDLY. These were my car brakes.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownOh. And I was so impressed!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Jen RahnWhat a nice thing to say! I wish I was as creative and clever as you! I loved reading all your great poems.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago