Day 24 - ending near Corunna, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2022

Day 24 - ending near Corunna, MI

Day 24 - Metamora, MI to Corunna, MI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Me and my sleeping bag had slid to near the bottom of the tent by the time I was awake at 4:50am. It was a little cool last night, I think about 54F, and I'd put on my thick socks and used my hand warmer from time to time.

Worked on report and packed. I'd seen a notice in the restroom announcing the offer for free coffee on weekends, starting at 8:00am at the Camp Host site. Since that site was on my way out of the park, it was my hope that there would still be coffee by the time I was leaving. That inspired me to keep moving. I was about ready to go when a fellow camper stopped by to chat. Ross had done bicycle touring in his early years - his first trip being with friends in 1976, from Detroit to San Francisco in 37 riding days. The first part of that trip was rough. Then they heard from someone experienced that bicycle touring is 85% mental and 15% physical. That new perspective made all the difference. It was fun talking about bikes and gear and places to go. With best wishes for a safe trip, I was on my way for coffee at 9:35am.

Well, it wasn't just coffee they were offering for free. Donuts and pastries also, all sponsored by Metamora Market. I'm glad I gave them some business yesterday. After eating I won't say how many donuts and pastries and drinking two cups of coffee, I proceeded on down the road a short ways to the camp store where I bought a Gatorade. Finally at the park exit at 10:03am. 

Today's destination is Shiawassee County Fair Grounds near Corunna. I headed south from the park to get on less busy, probably dirt, roads for my trip, which was mainly to the west. These dirt roads were a delight. I passed through Atlas at 11:16am. Now I was on a paved busier road. I wanted off, so rode through a residential area as I approached Grand Blanc. This also gave me an opportunity to ride a short bike trail, which I started right at noon.

16.5 miles is today's noon report.

I arrived at the Big Boy restaurant in Grand Blanc at 12:19pm, after riding on some sidewalks. They had a breakfast buffet going and I went with that. It was very good. My waitress allowed me to stay awhile longer to post yesterday's report. There wasn't enough cell signal to get it posted this morning at the campground.

Getting to the edge of Grand Blanc was no problem, thanks to bike lanes and bike trails, but once outside town I was riding on the gravel shoulder. I wanted more of the roads like I was on this morning and did find one: Reid Road.

At 4:37 I arrived in Durand, where I bicycled through the drive-thru at Wendy's for a Frosty. Spend some time looking for a good rural route to get to the fairgrounds. That worked out OK, and has me riding through the small town of Vernon.

I arrived at the fairgrounds at 6:20pm. I'd called the fairgrounds earlier in the day to get details on where to camp and how to pay, but their office was closed. I should have called yesterday afternoon. There are horse show competitions going on here, so there are lots of RVs and horse trailers. I walked around quite a bit trying to find an empty camping spot and found a perfect one right at the bottom of a hill: site #178. I sent an email to the fairgrounds telling them about my stay here, and providing my contact information, so I can make arrangements to pay for the site.

Next I worked on picture selection sitting on bleachers that were just on the other side of the fence I was camping next to. When it got dark, I moved to inside the tent. In bed at 10:20pm, looking forward to trail riding tomorrow.

Jeff

Spent: $3.60 (Gatorade) + $19.59 plus $10 (lunch) + $2.85 (Frosty) + $20 (campsite) = $56.04.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltRosemallow. Nice photo!

https://designsbynaturellc.com/product/hibiscus-moscheutos-hibiscus/
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Another interesting name!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 889 miles (1,431 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauI don't know how many times I've had that experience of sliding to the bottom of my tent during the night . . . or to the right side or left side of my tent . . . but I wish, at least once, I would have described it like you did.

I know it's pretty late in your tour to say I admire your route. I don't know much about it, but I DO know nobody else has done your circuit.

One more thing: I had been riding my bike for several decades before I ever heard the term "cycling kit." Apparently, it refers to the clothing one wears while riding his or her bicycle. In that light, let me just say I have serious respect for YOUR unique and unpretentious cycling kit.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Gregory GarceauGreg,
Yes, my route took some explaining, even to folks in each Metamora.
After forty-some years of wearing a "work-uniform", I'm just not comfortable in anything else. It seems to work out well for trips - especially with the handy right-leg cell phone pocket. Also, no time lost deciding what I'll wear for the day.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago