Day 25 - ending at Ionia, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2022

Day 25 - ending at Ionia, MI

Day 25 - Corunna, MI to Ionia, MI
Heart 0 Comment 0

No problem posting the journal page this morning - 5G cell signal was right outside my tent door!

My goal for today was to get to American Inn & Suites in Ionia. My original destination was Barkus Campground near Lyons, but storms are predicted for tonight, and I'd like to avoid the hassle of dealing with that in a tent, since I can. Most all of today would be on the Fred Meijer Clinton-Ionia-Shiawassee (CIS) State Trail. I was looking forward to that.

After messing around some drying the tent's ground cloth, I was packed and ready. Walked up to the arena here at the fairgrounds to watch a little of the horse show competition before I left (at 10:31am).

The town of Corunna was close. I stopped at Corunna Town Tub for sports drinks, this time Bodyarmor with caffeine. Not sure I need the caffeine. I may have to figure out a way to carry those larger bottles of Gatorade.

At 10:56am, I arrived at 'South 401' restaurant for breakfast - a Western Omelette with cinnamon toast. Got ice for my thermos as I left, and was ready to go at 11:55am.

Noon mileage report: 2.6 miles.

Over the Shiawassee River on a pedestrian/bike bridge put me at the east end of the James S. Miner River Trail at 12:12pm. That trail along the river was a pleasant way through Corunna and nearby Owosso. At the end of the trail is the James Oliver Curwood Castle. The place was just opening. The curator was installing the fishing pole on the statue, saying it's a shame that they can't just leave the pole there all the time. Curwood was an author, and had a unique writing studio. I paid the five dollars entrance fee, and toured the place. Very nice.

A short ride on roads got me to the east end of the CIS Trail. It's everything I'd hoped it would be - good surface, flat, and rural. I had 43 miles to go, so had to keep at it. There were small towns along the way, which slowed me down a little to take pictures. On the plus side, the trail was paved through each town.

Here's my time table: 2:35pm - Ovid, 3:57pm - St. John, 5:20pm - Fowler, 6:12pm - Pewamo, and 6:48pm - Muir. I stopped for breaks at conveniently placed benches along the trail, enjoying the south breeze. There was a slight chance of rain today after 5:00pm, but I lucked out there.

At 7:19pm, I was at the end of the CIS Trail and the start of the Fred Meijer Grand River Valley Trail. I left that trail at 7:33pm in Ionia for the motel. Nice in-town bike path all the way there.

Checked in and was in my room at 7:50pm, after purchasing a bag of chips and a soda. Storms are predicted for tonight and tomorrow. I'm going to stay here two nights. Took shower, then worked on picture selection until 11:25pm - bedtime.

Jeff

Spent: $4.50 (BodyArmor) + $14.91 plus $5 (breakfast) + $5 (tour fee) + $84.79 plus $5 (motel room) + $2 (soda, chips) = $121.20.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesI’ve had up close and personal experience with those trees and I greatly dislike them. Hard to get rid of. Good for this organization for working on it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Yes. So many invasives. It's sad.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like an invasive Ailanthus right there with compound leaves on the left hanging over the top rail...

Bad trees I've seen some local trails overtaken by them. Just like the sign said.

https://www.nature.org/en-us/about-us/where-we-work/united-states/indiana/stories-in-indiana/journey-with-nature--tree-of-heaven/
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Yes. There's more work to do!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 2
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
Yes. From the Shiawassee River? Not so sure.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 941 miles (1,514 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesI didn’t realize Curwood was an American author. I came across him on LibriVox.org (public domain books recorded by volunteers). Very manly adventures with romance thrown in, mostly in the wilds of the Canadian north. I fell asleep to them. (https://librivox.org/author/625?primary_key=625&search_category=author&search_page=1&search_form=get_results).

Very cool to see his place. Not surprised to see the statue of him as a major sportsman.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I'd never even heard of James Curwood. Seems I'd like reading his books, and with the link you provided, I easily can. Thanks!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago