Day 26 - still at Ionia, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2022

Day 26 - still at Ionia, MI

Up at 5:07am on this day off. Waiting for afternoon storms to move through, and also to do laundry.

Ate motel breakfast at 6:20am. I called my wife at 8:59am for an enjoyable 40-minute conversation. Finally posted yesterday's report, then gathered up my dirty laundry. The laundromat is two miles away, so I unloaded the bike to get there. 

I arrived at the laundromat at noon, after taking a few pictures in town on the way. This laundromat has new front-loading machines, but they still take quarters. I put a $20 bill in the change machine and exclaimed to the other fellow there, "I'm rich!" as the coins piled up. I'll spare you pictures of the washers and dryers this time (but I have them).

On my way back to the motel I rode some on the trail that I'd been on yesterday, but I went a little farther over a trail bridge and then back under it on a busy highway a short ways to get to a BBQ food truck for lunch. Ordered two Coney Dogs, but she had only one hot dog left, so the other one was made with a sausage. There was a strong south breeze wanting to blow my lunch away, but I held on.

Back at the motel room at 2:17pm, I put away my clothes, then adjusted my brakes to compensate for pad wear. The storms were on their way now, but I slept through them, taking a nap from 3:45pm to 5:15pm.

At 6:40pm it stopped raining and I walked next door to Olivera's Restaurant for supper: lasagna and lemonade. I had dessert also, which was a brownie and ice cream with white chocolate on top.

After dinner I walked across the street to the Ionia Free Fair fairgrounds for a sunset picture.

What a relaxing day it has been, except while climbing the hill to the laundromat. The forecast is clear of rain for the rest of the week. I'll be back on my way tomorrow morning.

Here's a bit of news. My trip received a mention on the Metamora, Ohio, Village Council Facebook page, thanks to the city office worker there.

Jeff

Spent: $7 (laundry) + $10 plus $5 (lunch) + $23.14 plus $10 (supper) + 84.79 plus $5 (motel room) = 144.93.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
More than I want to be!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0