Day 27 - ending near Middleville, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 30, 2022

Day 27 - ending near Middleville, MI

Day 27 - Ionia, MI to Middleville, MI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Woke up at 5:50am, after a good night's sleep in this motel room in Ionia. Left at 7:35am, heading south a short ways to Sheri's Restaurant for breakfast. Had French toast today.

I was back north on the Grand River Valley Rail Trail at 8:41am. It's a beautiful day with a west wind. Yesterday's storms brought down several trees across the trail. Most of them weren't too difficult to get around.

I arrived in Saranac at 10:10am. I purchased Vitaminwater from a gas station there. With ice from the restaurant this morning, I was all set.

At 11:13am I was at the end of the trail, just before reaching Lowell. Turned south on dirt road Montcalm Avenue for some climbing (and walking) to get out of the river valley. Arrived in flat farmland just when my wife called at 11:38am. I'd put her to work this morning to make a campground reservation for me for this coming Friday - the start of the Labor Day weekend. I was supposed to be home before then, but with all the extra non-riding days I've added, I'm behind schedule. Anyway, there are no sites available at either Dunewood Campground nor Indiana Dunes State Park. I switched her over to looking at motels in that area.

Back to riding until noon, when I stopped to record mileage so far: 18.3 miles.

I stair-stepped my way south and west toward my evening destination - Sharp Park Campground near Middleville. Sometimes flat, sometimes rolling hills. Sometimes dirt roads, and sometimes paved with shoulder. It was all good.

I was passing Alto when I saw a gas station ahead, which had me thinking what I might purchase there for lunch (chocolate covered donuts?). I happened to turn my head left and saw the Ice Cream Caboose across the road. So my lunch at 1:00pm was a hot dog and a Traverse City Cherry Fudge ice cream cone.

Continued on south and west. At 2:32pm I happened upon Two Rivers Green space, thanks to another glance to the left. That was a pleasant spot for a break. While there, I researched some on other options for where to stay Friday night. I called a campground near Michigan City. They happened to have a site. I made the reservation. What a relief!

At 3:31pm I was at the northern Middleville city limits sign. Just west of there I connected with the Paul Henry Thornapple Trail, which took me through Middleville and on to Irving. I left the trail at Irving to get to Sharp Park Campground. This was also on paved-with-shoulder and dirt roads.

I learned a little about the North Country Trail today, by reading an information board and seeing part of the trail, which passes through this area. That would be a different type of travel adventure.

I arrived at Sharp Park Campground at 5:29pm. Even here, they're booked full for the weekend. They have Gatorade at their camp store, so I purchased tomorrow's supply this evening. I also added a fudge popsicle for eating as soon as I was at my campsite.

After getting set up, I had supper from my lunchbox. Later I checked out the lake here. Very pretty.

I was going to go to bed early, then revived some, so worked on the report. I'll post it in the morning, but it's nice to have it ready to go, more or less, tonight.

Jeff

Spent: $14.33 plus $5 (breakfast) + $3.50 (Vitaminwater) + $6.63 plus $3.37 (lunch) + $30 (campsite) + $5.50 (Gatorade, fudge bar) = $68.33.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Roger MealiffAmazing photo. What is this?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Roger MealiffRoger,
Lily pads sticking out above a green algae-covered pond.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
They'd just backed it out from their garage.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like toadflax.

https://michiganflora.net/images.aspx?id=1953
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltCardinal flower.

https://michiganflora.net/images.aspx?id=703
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 987 miles (1,588 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Roger MealiffYour pics really help us envision your travels, Jeff. Thanks. This day’s were especially impressive.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Roger MealiffRoger,
Thanks!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago