Day 28 - ending near South Haven, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2022

Day 28 - ending near South Haven, MI

Day 28 - Middleville, MI to South Haven, MI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 5:42am. Posted yesterday's report. The upload was really fast, even though it wasn't 5G. I was told last evening during check-in that I'd be impressed.

I ate a few items from my lunch bag at 8:00am. Just enough to get me by until I arrive at Plainwell, some twenty miles away.

Today's evening destination is Kal-Haven Outpost east of South Haven and right next to the Kal-Haven Trail. The second half of today's riding would be on the Kal-Haven Trail. Just this afternoon, I think I figured out how the trail got its name - the trail goes from Kalamazoo to South Haven!

I left Sharp Park Campground at 8:44am, taking roads south and west to where I would connect up with the trail (which would be at Alamo). All the south and west roads worked out well today - the busy roads had wide shoulders. A lot of the roads were shaded in tree cover, but there were a few open field areas.

At 11:15am, I arrived at Old Mill Brewpub & Grill in Plainwell. Lunchtime! I ordered a Bronco Burger and root beer. Also got ice for my thermos. Of course, there's history with this building, but what impressed me most was their PEZ dispenser collection in the hallway leading to their bathrooms.

Back outside at 12:20pm, I wrote down the noon mileage: 18.0 miles.

I didn't get very far down the road, since I came to Plainwell Ice Cream Co. A good place for dessert. Getting out of town was slowed down even further, since I took their in-town bike trail, which passed interesting sights along the Kalamazoo River. Finally cleared town going south on 11th Street at 1:30pm.

At 2:19pm, I was at the start (for me) of the Kal-Haven Trail at 6th Street in Alamo. Twenty-six miles to go. Here's my timetable for this trail: 3:27pm - Kendall, 4:07pm - Gobles, 4:43pm - Bloomingdale, and 5:55pm - Grand Junction. There were picnic tables and benches along the way, and I enjoyed sitting at a few, letting the west wind blow past.

I turned off the trail for Kal-Haven Outpost at 6:44pm. Was assigned primitive site #19. After getting the tent set up, I ate the two melted granola bars that have been in my front basket the whole trip. I expected them to be messy, but they weren't - they'd kind of remelted back together. My tent site has no electricity, so I headed over to the restroom to charge my phone. Later I found that the individual shower stalls they have here each has an outlet next to a bench, so I can charge and type at the same time.

Almost done changing, and almost done typing. Time to head to bed.

Jeff

Spent: $18.00 plus $5 (lunch) + $9 plus $3 (banana split) + $5 (trail donation) + $31.80 (campsite) = $71.80.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesGood stop. I’ve eaten here a LOT. I’ve got in-laws who live in Plainwell.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
That's cool that you've been there. They were willing to custom-make my banana split (I don't care much for pineapple).
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesI’ve never seen it so empty
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
They had been busy. Time of day is what I'm thinking.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 1,038 miles (1,670 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesI’m sorry to admit that after more than 30 years of visiting this part of Michigan, it took me until this summer to figure out where the name of the Kal-Haven trail came from too. Doh!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I feel better now that I'm not the only one!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago