Day 23 - ending near Metamora, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2022

Day 23 - ending near Metamora, MI

visiting Metamora, Michigan

Day 23 - Oxford, MI to Metamora, MI
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was just cloudy this morning when I got up at 6:32am. During the night I was hearing machinery at the quarry to the south. Posted yesterday's journal page then packed.

Today I'd be visiting Metamora, Michigan. I had originally planned 53 miles riding today, but obviously that wasn't going to work, considering the amount of time I would spend in Metamora. I decided that camping at Metamora-Hadley State Recreation Area west of Metamora would work after my town visit.

At 10:28am I was on my way. About six miles to Metamora on East Oakland Road and Metamora Road. Both are dirt roads, and thanks to last night's rain, a little soft. When the road changed to pavement at 11:38am, I figured I was in town. A short time later, their 'welcome to town' sign appeared.

I stopped at the library to ask where city hall is. There's a quilt there celebrating the town's history. The librarian looked up the address for city hall, while an elderly patron said she thought the village was named after an Indian.

Back outside, I recorded noon mileage: 6.8 miles.

I continued my here-and-there picture taking as I headed to city hall. Passed the old city hall/opera house on the way. No one was at the present city office building, but I did discover from a posted schedule that I'd arrived on the first day of their Metamora Country Fair and Hot Air Balloon Festival, scheduled to start at 3:00pm. So that's why the place is so busy!

The most prominent building in town is what is now The White Horse Inn at the main intersection. The building had been an inn in 1850; now it is a restaurant. I'd planned to eat there, so climbed up their patio steps at 12:15am. I took a few pictures inside, then picked a patio table to sit at. The ribeye steak I ordered was so good, and it was so pleasant out on the patio! I could sit here all day. But, hoping to make it out of town by three, I passed on the opportunity for a carrot cake dessert.

I walked back across High Street, thinking I'd try taking a selfie in front of city hall. That worked OK enough. The sun was out now, so more pictures at the main intersection. I went inside the antique shop, where I was welcomed by the cheerful clerk. She gave me information on the White Horse Inn and other historic buildings in town, including the antique shop, which used to be a hardware store. It was fun talking with her.

Next, I rode Metamora's short bike trail. At its north end I was able to get across Oak Street to see some of the preparations the Lions Club is making for this weekend's festival. Lastly, before leaving town, I rode on a few residential streets, including Pleasant Street, to get a view of the water tower. It was up hill on the southeast side of town. I was going to coast back down Second Street, but the slope was too steep for me to feel comfortable doing that. One last picture of a church west of downtown, and I was leaving on High Street right at 3:00pm.

When I got to MI-24, I noticed a grocery store - Metamora Market. I went in to get Vitaminwater. The highway, which I was taking north a short ways, was very busy. I wouldn't have made it across, except for the stoplight at the intersection with Platt Road. Platt Road was busy also, but when I turned south on Baldwin Road, things calmed down. And Richie Road west, though dirt, was a delight.

I was at the entrance to Metamora-Hadley State Recreation Area at 3:47pm. At the campground check-in building, I got one of only three sites left (site #105), with a line of RVs waiting behind me.

Site #105 is shady, but not very level. Right up next to the power box is where I set up the tent. Then, sorted through all the photos from today.

At 6:00pm, I rode to the camp store for a bowl of ice cream. Another lazy, fun day! Now, time to set my mind for returning home.

Jeff

Spent: $39.75 plus $15 (lunch) + $3.98 (Gatorade) + $30 (campsite) + $5 plus $1 (ice cream) = 94.73.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 14 miles (23 km)
Total: 842 miles (1,355 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0