Day 22 - ending near Oxford, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2022

Day 22 - ending near Oxford, MI

Day 22 - South Lyon, MI to Oxford, MI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 4:40am. Finished yesterday's report, posted, and packed. Made it up the motel stairs OK without the clothes bag and water jug attached.

The plan today is to end up at Horseshoe Lake Campground north of Oxford, using several bike trails.

Checked out at 8:33am, backtracking on roads to get to where I ended yesterday on the Huron Valley Trail. I stopped at Java House before I got there for breakfast: an apple fritter, a cookie, and coffee.

I was back on the trail at 9:18am. The trail is paved, but the first two roads I crossed, and several others today, are dirt!

My GPS at 9:48am indicated that it was time to get on roads, but the trail was continuing, so I stayed with the trail. It is brand new, and led into Wixom. Trail/Street intersections in town were still under construction. A map posted at the end of the Huron Valley Trail helped me find the start of the Michigan Air Line Trail. Right at the start I met two girls out walking who were interested with where I'd been and where I was going. It was fun sharing.

This trail, as well as the Huron Valley Trail, has road crossing signal lights which can be activated to help get across. Most vehicles were stopping even without activation of the signals.

There is an awesome ramp and overpass for the trail over MI-5, which looks like a freeway to me. I walked up the ramp, taking a break halfway up to enjoy the breeze. It was a fun coasting down on the other ramp after I'd crossed over.

At 11:06am, I was at the end of the Air Line Trail, and at the start of the West Bloomfield Trail. I was along this trail, taking pictures of ducks, when a touring couple on a tandem bicycle pulled up. I recognized them from journals they post on CycleBlaze. They are Jeanna and Kerry Smith. I was quite surprised to meet them in person. So much fun! Their current journal is Too Far 2022 Reunion Bound (the long way around). We talked for a while, then they continued on, heading toward Canada next. I took a few more pictures of ducks, then of a plane rigged to land on water that kept circling. By then it was noon. Morning mileage is 16.3 miles.

I was at the end of the West Bloomfield Trail at 12:47pm, and the start of the Clinton River Trail. I'd be leaving the Clinton River Trail in Pontiac before its end. All these trails did an excellent job getting me to the center of Pontiac. I spent a lot of pretrip planning time figuring out an on-road way to get out of Pontiac going north. At 1:10pm, it was time to see how well my road route would work. I'd imagined all sorts of traffic, but there really wasn't any this time of day. I turned right onto Perry Street going northeast. It has a bike lane, and that made it easy.

I noticed the Perry Street Grill on my right, and decided to stop for lunch: hot dog, chili, and medium cherry shake. That was really good.

Giddings Road going north was my turn off Perry Street. Ten minutes later - at 2:26pm, I entered Auburn Hills. Giddings Road has quite a hill, but I found a bike path next to it, which made it easier, since I wouldn't be bothering traffic for catch-my-breath breaks.

I was headed next for the Polly Ann Trail, and found other bike paths to get to the start of that (at 3:22pm). The Polly Ann Trail brought me to Oxford at 4:30pm, where I left the trail to go north on roads (at 4:39pm). Except I found another bike trail that lasted to the high school by Ray Road. That helped. A few more miles on dirt roads would get me to the campground.

I arrived at Horseshoe Lake Campground at 5:20pm. I called the number posted on the campground office door. The lady answering said the campground was full - has been booked all summer - and there were no sites available. I'm thinking to myself, "I need to start calling ahead to make sure I have a place to stay so I don't get myself in situations like this." I started checking other campgrounds/motels in the area using Google Maps. There's a $250 Bed and Breakfast, a nudist campground is close by . . . Just then I get a phone call back from the campground here. The campground worker had called the manager, and got permission to set me up for one night at site #25. She really didn't need to be concerned about how I'd make out - it wasn't her problem, but she sure saved my day! The worker came to the office to check me in, and showed me where everything is. I set up, checked the bike tires for debris, and added some air. As soon as I was done with that, it started to sprinkle. I worked on the report in the tent, then took a break at 8:00pm to walk down to the lake. Back at the tent before 8:25pm, when it started raining for real.

I have a lot to be thankful for today - bike trails, people I met, and for a place to stay!

Jeff

Spent: $8.68 plus $3 (breakfast) + $4.22 (Gatorade) + $9.15 plus $5 (lunch) + $30 (campsite) = 60.05.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Kerry and Jeanna Smith on West Bloomfield Trail - August 25, 2022
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltFun when two journals I am following cross paths!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Yes!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 828 miles (1,333 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Jeanna & Kerry SmithIt was great meeting you, Jeff. What as surprise to hear someone say "Hi, Jeanna and Kerry" as we rode down a trail.
I've read most of this journal. You tell good stories and your photography is excellent. I take almost all of my photos from the back of the bike while we're riding - not the way to get the best images. Your make me want to do better.
Safe travels,
Jeanna
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Roger MealiffJeff, I’m trying to picture you at the nudist campground. Does not compute. Glad you made other arrangements. Thanks so much for your journals and pictures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeanna and Kerry,
I was so glad to meet you this time. I'm impressed on how you're more on-a-trip than not. You sure get around!
I do have an advantage to easily hop off the bike to take pictures, but I think the camera in my new phone is helping also.
I'm safely back home now. Wishing you safe travels each day as you continue on.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Roger MealiffRoger,
Thank you for your sign-up/sign-in efforts to get this message to me. I should have replied back to you at the time. Sorry.
Yeah, I was hoping I wouldn't have to go with that no-clothes option.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago