Day 21 - ending at South Lyon, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2022

Day 21 - ending at South Lyon, MI

Day 21 - Adrian, MI to South Lyon, MI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up at 4:52am this morning, which was good, since today was a longer planned miles day (57 miles). The hope was to be at a motel on the north side on South Lyon this evening.

Since there wasn't a free table available, I ate breakfast in my room. Packed and leaving at 6:55am.

Lots of bike trails to ride today, the first being Kiwanis Trail in Adrian. To get to the start, I rode on sidewalks, after getting across the highway I was on yesterday afternoon. Started trail riding at 7:12am. A nice peaceful morning with no routing concerns, until I arrived at Trestle Park. I hadn't been able to figure out beforehand how to get through what look like a maze to me, and seeing the place in person didn't help. I finally took to riding a block on streets to get around it.

I was just south of Tecumseh at 8:36am. After half a mile on a city bike path, I was passing downtown, which is currently all torn up with street repair.

Left Tecumseh on its northeast side using Macon Road. This road is paved to the crossroads town of Macon. Passing Macon at 9:59am, I happened to notice a small grocery store, so stopped to buy Gatorade. The store clerk told me that the grocery store was built by Henry Ford to help farmers in the area. There were pictures on the wall of Henry Ford and of the building in earlier times. I took a break outside and then continued on.

Macon Road beyond Macon was more a dirt road with some gravel, though I couldn't figure out if it had been a paved road a one time. Anyway it was pleasant riding, with farms, trees, and hills on both sides.

At 11:21am I passed the city limits sign for Saline. Rode through a historic home area on my way to the Saline Inn Family Restaurant, where I had pancakes, bacon, and a vanilla shake for lunch.

I remembered this time to write down the noon mileage before I went into the restaurant - 21.7 miles.

Getting through Saline was made easier thanks to a couple of bike trails - the Lohr Textile Greenway and the Platt Road Greenway. Before I realized it, I was in Ann Arbor (at 1:55pm). Huron Parkway got me to the Gallup Park Pathway next to the Huron River at 2:36pm. This area was being used by walkers, runners, cyclists, dog walkers, families looking at the water, and kayakers out on the water, which was the Huron River.

At 3:19pm, I left the Gallup Park Pathway for the north-going Matthaei Botanical Gardens Trail. Very pleasant, with nature all around.

Now, for the last leg of my trip, which was continuing north on Dixboro Road. Somewhat busy with a so-so shoulder. At 4:00pm, I stopped for a welcomed break at the parking area for the Raymond F. Goodrich Preserve. I noticed on the map that after I passed North Territorial Road, the road changes from a primary to secondary type road. I didn't realize this change would be from paved to a dirt road like I was on this morning, but the traffic never lessened, thanks to this route being a detour for other closed roads. It was slow, dusty, and very busy with traffic. I almost didn't know what to think. Nobody seemed to care about the condition of the road as they drove past, though they did slow down and watch out for me.

At 5:09pm I was off Dixboro Road and on Eight Mile Road heading to a north-going bike path in South Lyon. That path took me to the Huron Valley Trail - a trail I plan to spend some time on tomorrow also. The trail went by a Wendy's. I thought "Frosty" and went over. Their dining room was closed, but the drive-thru was open. I bicycled through and picked up supper, which I ate in their parking lot. I continued on the Huron Valley Trail until I needed to turn off to get to the Country Meadow Inn. Arrived there at 6:38pm. The only problem with this motel is that it is a split-level design, and I had to go down half a flight of stairs with the bike. I made it with help from the motel manager. 

Took a shower and started working on picture selection, but wow, I keep falling asleep! Finally gave up at 10:21pm and turned the lights off.

Jeff

Spent: $3 (Gatorade) + $13.85 plus $5 (lunch) + $8.25 (supper) + $91 plus $5 (motel room) = $126.10.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltQueen Anne's lace.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queen_Anne's_lace

Magenta flowers are purple loosestrife.

https://www.michigan.gov/invasives/id-report/plants/herbs/purple-loosestrife
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thank you so much for your identification messages. I find them very interesting, and am starting to remember some of the names.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice macro of the bee and birdsfoot trefoil.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lotus_corniculatus
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Interesting name, and how it came about.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesYou weren’t kidding about the dust.

Not that you would ever kid us, right?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I won't kid you!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 784 miles (1,262 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesI love seeing what all the small towns that you’re traveling through look like, and hearing the little stories.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks. I like small towns, especially ones with cafes.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago