Day 20 - ending at Adrian, MI - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2022

Day 20 - ending at Adrian, MI

visiting Metamora, OH

Day 20 - Whitehouse, OH to Adrian, MI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Awake at 5:37am. Everything outside was wet with dew. Packed up and was on my way at 7:30am with the sun shining. Today was planned to be a short day - just 32 miles, so that I could have some extra time to spend in Metamora, Ohio. The final destination for today was Brentwood Motel in Adrian, Michigan. Considering all that, I decided I could afford the time to ride back to Whitehouse for breakfast.

I arrived at The Buzz Family Diner at 7:57am, after taking several pictures in town. My waitress figured out a deal for the meal I ordered, which wasn't a combination on the menu. The food and service was very good. I'm glad I made time for it.

Left Whitehouse going west on OH-64, a much calmer highway here at this time of morning. Arrived at the Berkey-Southern Road entrance to Oak Openings Preserve Metropark at 8:59am. Rode pass the campground I'd hope to be at last night. The park is beautiful, especially in the morning light.

Shortly after leaving the park I rode on the Wabash Cannonball Trail - North Fork for a little ways west, then it was back north on country roads.

I arrived at Swanton at 9:56am, where I was able to purchase some Gatorade. In Swanton I got back on OH-64. Rode under I-80/I-94 at 10:12am, and was in Assumption at 10:55am. Metamora was next, and I arrived at their southern city limits at 11:12am.

I rode on into town, and then around getting pictures. Ended up in front of Country Charm Cafe, where I parked the bike for a picture. I'd eat there later. Next door to the cafe is City Hall, in what used to be a bank. I went inside and was warmly welcomed by the worker there. She showed me the old bank vault and safety deposit boxes they still have. She also gave me a booklet on their Metamora history. I see just now that the booklet references a history book written on the villages named Metamora by C. Henry Smith. I'll have to check into that.

I stepped outside to take more pictures. The city worker came back out and asked if she could take my picture, then she offered to take my picture with my camera. That was such an excellent idea, and one I should have thought of!

Next was lunch at the cafe at 11:40am. Double Bacon Cheeseburger and lemonade. I should have been full by then, but was talked into having a piece of cherry pie for dessert. What a lazy day I am having.

My noon alarm went off while I was eating so I just shut it off, and then forgot to record the noon mileage when I was back outside. I was still in Metamora at 2:00 pm, and recorded it then: 22.7 miles.

After lunch I rode around some more and through the park. They have an awesome park here - three picnic pavilions, ball fields, park benches, flower gardens . . . Seems like a big-town park!

Lastly I stopped at the library and was happily welcomed there also. There are so many historic displays in the library it seemed like it was half museum. And the library part is very nice also. I'm impressed.

I left the library at 2:02pm and was making my turn north out of town at 2:10pm. The Michigan State Line was close, and I was there at 2:15pm. Several miles riding north on flat almost-empty Crockett Road, then I turned west south of Adrian and started getting into hills. I entered Adrian from the south on Treat Highway, which would get me close to Brentwood Motel. There was a sign at the motel stating 'No Vacancy' so I searched for other motels in town. Decided on the Super 8.

Google Maps said Super 8 was a nine minute bicycle ride. Well, it was the most intense nine minutes for me for this trip, so far. All on a multi-lane highway during rush hour. I made it, but don't ask me to do that again. At 4:31pm I was in my room at Super 8, and thankful to be here. Took a shower and got started with pictures and report writing. Today's near sunset picture is of a much calmer highway out front.

Jeff

Spent: $10.52 plus $6 (breakfast) + $3.84 (Gatorade) + $14.73 plus $5 + $109.89 plus $5 (motel room) = $154.98.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Timothy SwitzerWhat? No ice cream???
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
No need to overdo it.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 726 miles (1,168 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0