Day 19 - ending near Whitehouse, OH - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2022

Day 19 - ending near Whitehouse, OH

Day 19 - Findlay, OH to Whitehouse, OH
Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept so very well last night. Up at 6:14am for coffee from the motel office, then pack and go at 7:47am. It was hazy out, but not so bad as to be a concern. The restaurant I'd planned to eat breakfast at along my route on the north side of Findlay was closed, so continued on with new plan to eat in Bowling Green.

At 9:09am I was at the North Baltimore trailhead for the Slippery Elm Trail. Another nice, flat, paved trail. Its end for me was Bowling Green. A few miles before I got there, I stopped to talk with a man and a woman, both in their 70s, who were riding in opposite directions. They gave me recommendations for places to eat in town, after I told them what I was looking for (a small cafe).

The woman was going my way, but said she was slow. She's not that slow! We made it to Bowling Green at the same time, however I was stopping for pictures now and then. There are some pretty side walking trails off the Slippery Elm Trail near town. So at 11:08am, the woman led me to where Kermit's Family Restaurant is. Such a help!

The waitress at Kermit's said the Tandoori Breakfast Sandwich wasn't too big of a meal, so I went with that. Done and back outside at noon. Morning mileage was 24.2 miles.

Next I headed east toward Bowling Green State University campus. I know someone who went there, so thought I'd look around. Students were everywhere! Besides me trying to get around, there was a robot car getting in the way of students.

At 1:00pm I'd made my way back west to a city park. I called Metroparks Toledo to make a reservation for camping tonight at their White Oak Campground near Whitehouse. I was an hour too late. Reservations need to be placed by noon for same day camping. So I searched for campgrounds near Whitehouse, and found Twin Acres Campground. That became my new evening destination.

I'd routed to ride on OH-64 to get to Whitehouse, and started that at 1:30pm. It would have worked, but wasn't going to be fun, with the narrow shoulder and moderate traffic. Going west on Kellogg Road ahead would get me to Whitehouse also, if I went through Grand Rapids. At 1:48pm I turned off OH-64 onto a much more pleasant road. Passed Tontogany at 2:22pm, and was in Grand Rapids at 3:05pm. Beaver Creek is sure muddying up the Maumee River! There's a mill and canal in Grand Rapids that I got a picture of, then turned north on Jeffers Road at 3:33pm. A short time later, I went up and down an overpass for an expressway that didn't show on either of my GPS units. Maybe it's time to update.

Jeffers Road had lower traffic than even Kellogg Road, so was fun, even against the north breeze. At 4:10pm, I met up with the Wabash Cannonball - South Fork Trail. This was a bonus, since I hadn't planned to be this way. That lasted for me until 4:33pm, when I got on Berkey Southern Road, and later OH-64 to get to the campground.

I checked in at Twin Acres Campground at 4:45pm. The camp store closes at 5:00pm, so I just made it in time to purchase a bowl of butter pecan ice cream. I had my choice of unoccupied sites in the B11 through B29 section. I settled at site B28. Set up then had supper. It's not trains that make noise here, it's National Guard jets! Hopefully, they'll call it a day soon.

Today was another easy day for me. I didn't expect the roads to be so flat in this area. Should be in Metamora, Ohio tomorrow.

Jeff

Spent: $11.93 plus $5 (breakfast) + $33 (campsite) + $4 (ice cream) = $53.93.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMorning glory climbing the cornfield fence.

https://michiganflora.net/images.aspx?id=861
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks! That's one flower I do know. I thought it made a pretty picture.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 3
Christopher JacksonJeff I'm Chris Jackson and met you with Cheryl along the Slippery Elm Trail. Very nice talking with you and glad to see you found Kermits. Bet Cheryl chatted you up pretty good. Stay safe.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Christopher JacksonChris,
Thank you for your sign-up/sign-in efforts to get this message to me. I should have replied back to you at the time. Sorry.
Your restaurant recommendation was spot-on. Kermit's was the type of place I was looking for.
Cheryl is a character, but a likeable one. She was relatively quiet in town, though I did give her a chance to chat by inviting her to join me at Kermit's.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Christopher JacksonTo Jeff TeelIt was a pleasure meeting you Jeff. Also fun reading and viewing your travels.
Regards,
Chris Jackson
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 685 miles (1,102 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0