hick-a-billies in oklahoma - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2007

hick-a-billies in oklahoma

I was only in Oklahoma for two minutes, literally, just so I could add it to the tally of states I'd ridden in, so there's not much to write.

Heart 0 Comment 0

This is a screenshot from google maps. I rode SSE on 400, then allegedly rode WSW on I-44. Once I crossed the border I took a picture, then turned around and rode back into Missouri. It was a distance of about a quarter of a mile each way. 

 I say "allegedly" because it's illegal to ride on the interstate, and I believe the "I" in "I-44" stands for "Interstate." Obviously, I would never, ever do anything against the law like that. Not here, nor in Missouri. Not in Alabama, either. Nor would I do that in Mississippi. Definitely not in Louisiana, and most certainly not in Texas. 

No way.

 There are other reasons one might not want to travel through this section in Oklahoma. I don't know what a "hick-a-billy" is, but I suspect it's when a hick and a hillbilly intermarry, an unholy alliance like a liger, and I wanted to avoid one at all costs.

Today's ride: 1 mile (2 km)
Total: 1 mile (2 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauGood job on not doing illegal things in the deep south. That was smart. As I recall, you also didn't commit multiple offenses along the Montana-Alberta border. LOL
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BinghamExactly! Good memory! LOL!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago