about this journal - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

about this journal

I took my first bike trip in 1982. I journaled it, but since there were no computers at the time I used an old fashioned pen and paper. The pieces of paper I wrote on were typically squares slightly larger than your palm, although I sometimes used the smallest spiral notebook I could find. When I finished my trip, I tucked them away in a folder in my file cabinet for a few decades.

I eventually pulled them out and  found that the paper had aged and wasn't in the greatest shape...  it was discolored and sometimes even falling apart, so I transcribed it onto my computer, or at least what I could read. 

Most of it was legible, but my writing "style" (if you can call it a style) was to write now-cryptic phrases and separate everything with a slash. 

You'll be happy to know that 90% of the original got culled because, really, who wants to know about when I "ate figs" or that I ate "got up to P and drink OJ?" I also changed it into narrative, and filled in the blanks from my memory of what happened.  

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
this is my entire journal (I wrote on both sides) and my expenses
Heart 4 Comment 0
trip expenses, to the penny
Heart 2 Comment 0

The challenge is to recall what those phrases mean. Fortunately, even after forty years, just reading a few words opened up a galaxy of memories. Most of it easily floated back up to the surface....  the faces, the scenery, the conversations, the heat, the cold, the exhilaration, the insecurity....

the Adventure.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Jeff LeeI love reading "vintage" touring journals, so I'm really looking forward to this one.

It's interesting that you spent less on a hotel room on May 29 than you did on "blank tapes" on June 1st.

Or was the $9.75 for your portion of the bill of a room you shared with another rider?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BinghamTo Jeff LeeI just looked up that date in my original journal, and it appears that the $9.75 was my portion of the room the three of us shared in Walsenburg.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallVery enjoyable reading! This reminds me a lot of my early attempts at bike touring in 1975 - 76; absolutely no idea what I was doing, but the energy and wildness of youth made up for that lack. Looking forward to reading the rest of your journal.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Charles ThompsonAll right! There is no possible way I could be more excited to read this journal. It is going to take a large amount of self restraint to not binge read.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago