rest day, buppy's, end of the party - The No Tear Tier - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2008

rest day, buppy's, end of the party

Day Thirty Six

"What do you call a fat person at McDonalds?
A customer."
          -  unknown  -

"A recent survey of North American males found 42% were overweight, 34% were critically obese, and 8% ate the survey."
          -  Banksy  -

<><><><><><>

I hesitate to call today a "rest day." I got a lot done yesterday, but not everything that needed to get done, so I'm taking another day off.

In addition to doing a lot of online credentialing for my new job (which I was able to do on my own computer instead of having to borrow one), I had a great visit with my family.

Something else I accomplished from my list....

time for another haircut, this time without the straight razor shave
Heart 1 Comment 0

If you recall from an earlier post, I've been on the lookout for a barber with an actual striped pole on the outside. I found one in Mexico, and lived to tell about it, and found another one today.

While I was there I asked my barber where I could get some good BBQ and he recommended Buppy's.

I was a little skeptical with a name like Buppy's.  You can be pretty confident that with a name like "Bubba's" or "Buddy's," but Buppy's??? That's a turtle's name. Or a chihuahua's. Could this place sell  delicious BBQ?? 

I think not.

When I saw the picture on the side of the catering van I was even less reassured. One would expect to see a ruggedly handsome guy in overalls with a forearm tattoo of the word "Mom," which may or may not be misspelled. He'd be concentrating on a giant piece of meat that's grilling over an open flame. You'd start salivating.

 Instead, Buppy's logo was a cartoon picture of a guy with a bad wig, three chins, and a goofy smile. Think Moe Howard. 

Even with my misgivings I decided to give it a shot. When the locals suggest something it's generally a good idea to listen, so I shouldn't have been surprised to find that Buppy's BBQ (I can barely bring myself to type it) was the best of my trip so far, AND it was all you can eat and drink for $6.95.

Still, don't take my word for it. Take a look at the place. It's packed with satisfied customers.

Heart 1 Comment 0
there were satisfied smiles all around
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMaybe some are over satisfied?
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago

<><><>

Starting now, the party's over. Tomorrow, Act 2 begins.

Until now, I've had a vague idea about finishing, and about how many miles I needed to ride each day. Today, however, I sat down and calculated exactly how many more miles I have to go and when I'll be arriving in Jacksonville.

When I get to the end of my trip in Florida, I'll buy a one-way ticket back to San Diego. From there, I'll fly back to Iowa on 11/23 using the second half of my round-trip ticket. Heather has a conference in San Diego which begins on 11/18, so I'm going to try to make it while she's there.

If I follow the ACA route, I'll have 1227 miles left. That's just under 70 miles a day, if I only take every sixth day off instead of every fifth. If I get off the ACA route at Wellborn and head straight to Jacksonville, it'll cut off about 100 miles, and I can cut off another 42 miles going from Washington, LA, through Melville instead of Simmesport. That's 1085 miles, making it 60 miles a day. I'll arrive in Jacksonville on the 17th, get my bike boxed up and shipped on the 18th, and fly out early on the 19th.

60-70 miles a day, six days a week?  Like I said…. the party's over.

<><><><><><>

distance:              0 miles 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauI am increasingly enjoying the quotes at the top of the page every day. Banksy is not only a great urban artist, he also seems to be tuned in to the human condition.

Now that the party is over, I'm excited to see how you rise to the challenge.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Mark BinghamTo Gregory GarceauI'm glad you're enjoying them! I read through hundreds and hundreds, selecting the most appropriate. It was enjoyable work, and there are some interesting quotes from people you wouldn't expect... Banksy and Desmond Tutu are the two that come to mind immediately.

Thanks for reading!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago