failing, 14K, leaving the hill country - The No Tear Tier - CycleBlaze

October 22, 2008

failing, 14K, leaving the hill country

Day Thirty One

"I don't like country music, but I don't want to denigrate those who do. And for the people who like country music, 'denigrate' means to 'put down.'"
          -  Bob Newhart  -

"Country music is some of the best-written music in the world, so yeah, one day, I would keep my mind open to doing a country record."
          -  Ed Sheeran  -

"Country music is three chords and the truth."
          -  Harlan Howard  -

<><><><><><>

This morning I asked myself, "How could we have failed so miserably as a country?" 

It's true. Good or bad, we export an enormous amount of American culture to other countries. You can buy a McDonald's hamburger in Moscow or a pair of Levis in Tokyo. Our cultural presence is seen everywhere in the world now. Like an outbreak of herpes in a brothel, our cultural presence has spread all over the globe.  

Klaus even has a KFC in his hometown in Germany. And yet…

And yet, he's never heard of Willie Nelson. How can that be?? This is an educated man living in an industrialized society. Where have we gone wrong??

So, I've decided to ask for your help. I'm going to give Klaus a list of Country and Western songs that he needs to be familiar with. What Country and Western songs should Klaus know about before leaving this country? Of course, "Let's go to Luckenbach, Texas" comes to mind, and I've already told him about that one, but that's just the beginning. Please help me correct this cultural void in Klaus' world. I'll pass all of the responses on to him (or, more likely, he'll just read them on the blog).

Today, I've been on the road for one month. Even with a couple of bumps along the way, there is absolutely nothing I'd rather be doing with my life right now.

Vickie was already at work by the time we got up. Tommy fed us breakfast and we visited a little more before finally leaving at 10:00.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Tommy
Heart 2 Comment 0

Three miles later, from behind me I heard Klaus yell,

"Stop! Stop! We have to stop!"

What?!?!  A flat?? Another broken spoke?? A two-headed deer?!?

A javelina bite?!?!?    

Nope... 

He's at 14,000 kilometers. If you recall from earlier posts he has a celebratory beer every 1,000 kilometers.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Instead of a beer, he pulled out a special bottle of wine. When he stopped at Sister Creek winery in Boerne (pronounced "BURNee") a couple of days ago, he met the vintner. When the winemaker found out about Klaus' global circumnavigation he gave him a bottle of his reserve cabernet sauvignon blend. A 750 mL bottle was too large so he gave him a 375 mL bottle, then labeled it himself as Klaus watched.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Having a little taste to celebrate 14,000 kilometers. It was a LOT better than our previous celebration.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Five miles after our 14,000 kilometer celebration, we parted ways again. Klaus has decided to go to Austin and take a rest day there. He's only taken one rest day since I last saw him, and he's really ready for one.

Although we only traveled together for eight miles, it was nice that the 14,000 kilometer was included in that short stretch.

Again, we said our goodbyes and parted ways. Who knows? Perhaps we'll meet up again. At 15,000?  I hope so. I really enjoy riding with him.

Riding this morning was nice because of the tailwind, which was a rare occurrence on this trip (it was actually more from the side, but it wasn't a headwind so I'll take it). 

This is still the Texas Hill Country, with its rolling hills, and is very beautiful. 

I don't think I saw two cars all morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are a lot of ancient oak trees in this area, each of which seems to have a personality of its own.
Heart 1 Comment 0
...as well as a large number of prickly pear cactus patches
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltGlochids!

If you can figure out how to get rid of them, the fruit is great!

It has been decades, but I do remember!!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark BinghamTo Bill ShaneyfeltI think you can burn them off, like with a lighter, then cook them. And I learned a new word today... "glochids." Thanks, as always, Bill!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Mark BinghamI've heard you can do that, but have not been around ripe ones for a few decades, so have not tried.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

When I lived in Texas, some of the locals told me about cooking the fruit from the cacti, the red bulb. I learned the hard way that they also have spines. Unlike the large ones sticking out and warning everyone not to touch them, the ones on the fruit are barely visible to the naked eye and are so fine that it's impossible to get them out of your fingers once they're embedded, even with tweezers. 

In Wimberley (pop 3,797),  where my grandmother was raised after arriving in a covered wagon, I stopped at the Visitor's Center to ask about some good places to eat. Among the choices was Marco's, an Italian restaurant. 

As I was waiting for my lunch, a couple of local bikers came over to chat, one of whom has previously done a cross-country trip. Since they knew the area, they recommended taking a certain road out of town on my way to Lockhart. Unsurprisingly, it was the same one on the ACA route.

Later, reviewing my bike map, I noticed a notation: "There is no or bad shoulder to Kyle." I think that should be corrected to: "There is no or no shoulder to Kyle." The traffic was slightly heavy in places (of course, that's rural heavy), but the drivers were always nice.

On the other side of Kyle (pop 5,314) the land becomes flatter and there's a lot of farmland... I'm leaving The Hill Country.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
downtown Lockhart
Heart 1 Comment 0

I lost 750 feet of elevation today, all of it earned on the other side of the continental divide. I'm dropping a little each day, usually only a few hundred feet. 

When I arrived in Lockhart (pop 11,615) I stopped at the Visitor's Center just as they were closing at 5:00. There were two women in the parking lot on their way to their cars, but they stopped anyway and were very helpful when I asked them some questions about lodging and, of course, the best place to eat in town. 

Caldwell County Courthouse, in Lockhart
Heart 1 Comment 0

I checked into the motel, and two minutes after I closed my door a Norther blew in. The wind began blowing about 20 mph and the temperature dropped by 20 degrees.

I'd heard about Black's barbecue, not just from the women at the Visitor's Center, but from a couple of other people I'd asked in the area. I had planned to go there for dinner, but I would've had to pedal (or walk) two miles into that 20 mph chilly wind. Instead, I decided to just walk across the street to Chisholm Trail Barbecue.

There, I bought a chopped beef sandwich, a large drink, and chips for under $4.00. I thought the cashier didn't charge me for one or even two of the items, but that's what it cost. I didn't think you could still get a meal for under four bucks, but I guess it's still possible here in Lockhart, USA.  And, it was excellent barbecue. 

Back in the room, of course... I blogged.

<><><><><><>

distance:                           62 miles 
average speed:                13.2 mph
maximum speed:           30.9 mph
time on bike:                    4:39:31
cumulative:                       1494.5 miles 

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 1,495 miles (2,406 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Mark BinghamThis is the list of the songs I got in the comments section when I originally wrote this back in 2008. They're in the order they were posted. For all you Country aficionados, feel free to add some additional ones in the comments section.

Johnny Cash:
A Boy Named Sue
Ring of Fire
Folsom Prison Blues
I've Been Everywhere, Man
I Walk the Line
Will the Circle Be Unbroken
Kenny Rogers:
Lady
Every Time Two Fools Collide (with Dottie West)
Know When to Hold'em
Glen Campbell:
Galveston
Rhinestone Cowboy
Garth Brooks:
Friends in Low Places
The Dance
If Tomorrow Never Comes
Roy Orbison:
Pretty Woman
Charlie Pride:
Kiss an Angel Good Morning
Conway Twitty:
Louisiana Woman, Mississippi Man (with Loretta Lynn)
George Jones:
He Stopped Loving Her Today
Willie Nelson:
Always On My Mind
Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain
Mama, Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to be Cowboys
Georgia on my Mind
Dolly Parton:
I Will Always Love You
Jolene
Patsy Cline:
Crazy
Tammy Wynette:
Stand By Your Man
David Frizzell:
I'm Gonna Hire a Wino to Decorate our Home
Tanya Tucker:
Delta Dawn
Randy Travis:
For Ever and Ever, Amen
Waylon Jennings:
Amanda
Good Hearted Woman
Hank Williams:
I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
Your Cheatin' Heart
Hank Williams, Jr.:
A Country Boy Can Survive
All My Rowdy Friends
Mary Robbins:
El Paso
Alabama:
Feels So Right
My Home's in Alabama
Statler Brothers:
The Class of 57
I'll Go to my Grave Loving You
Reba McEntire:
Fancy
The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia
Lee Greenwood:
God Bless the USA
Rascal Flats:
God Bless the Broken Road
Freddy Fender:
Before the Next Teardrop Falls
John Denver:
Annie's Song
Country Roads
Jimmy Buffett:
Margaritaville
Sammi Smith:
Help Me Make It Through the Night
George Strait:
All My Ex's Live in Texas
Barbara Mandrell:
I Was Country When Country Wasn't Cool
Charlie Rich:
Behind Closed Doors
Jerry Lee Lewis:
Great Balls of Fire
Ronnie Milsap:
It Was Almost Like a Song
Merle Haggard:
If We Make It Through December
Ernest Tubb:
Waltz Across Texas
Johnny Paycheck:
Take This Job and Shove It
Sammy Kershaw:
Queen of my Double Wide Trailer
Charlie Daniels Band:
The Devil Went Down to Georgia
Bobby Bare:
Drop-Kick Me, Jesus

and one person suggested, for Klaus specifically:
I Like Beer, by Tom T. Hall
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark Bingham2024 update:
Klaus has since become a big Willie Nelson fan, and even has some vinyl LPs.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rich FrasierJust imagine the richness you’ve brought into his life. :)

I do detect a certain lack of Buck Owens in that list. You might be able to improve Klaus’ life even more with another recommendation. “Today I Started Loving You Again” would be a good start. :):)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark BinghamTo Rich FrasierYou know, I think you're right. He isn't. I'll remedy that shortly.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauI'm not exactly a country & western music fan, but my immediate thoughts were "I've Been Everywhere, Man," which I see has already been mentioned, a couple of Texas-related songs--"Miles & Miles of Texas" (Asleep At The Wheel) & "Amarillo By Morning" (George Strait), and, just because I love John Prine, I'll go with "That Flag Decal Won't Get You Into Heaven Anymore." Not sure if Prine is exactly a country artist though. Speaking of not exactly country artists, maybe I should throw in "Dead Flowers" (The Rolling Stones).
Reply to this comment
1 month ago