An apology - The Not So Long Way Down - CycleBlaze

February 25, 2019

An apology

Well, as the more astute of you out there will have no doubt already noticed, this journal has not been updated for a very long time. 

Sorry about that.

I remember the last entries that I wrote, I found it very stressful. We were maybe staying in a town at the end of a day cycling, and I'd have to do the writing, upload the photos for an entry. Then I'd spend the morning doing the same thing for another entry, and then it was time to go, and I'd spent so much time on the journal that I'd had no time to relax and enjoy some time off the bike actually experiencing where we were with Dea.

There's a balance to be struck when travelling by bike and writing about it, and when the writing about it subtracts from the experience, it stops being worth it. Writing a daily journal was much easier a few years ago when I travelled alone, but now I want to spend more of my free time with Dea, and sadly I've decided there just isn't enough time left to keep up this daily journal.

We did have a tremendous time cycling across Mexico, and I've written a couple of more concise blog posts about that over on www.differentpartsofeverywhere.travel.blog, our website where we will still continue our sporadic updates.

I am sorry I wasn't able to maintain this journal. I did actually gain what I wanted from doing it, in the sense that it reminded me to appreciate the everyday occurrences that make cycle touring such an absolutely fantastic thing to be doing. And I really appreciate those of you who followed along with us, albeit briefly. Thank you.

I will leave the journal open for the time being, as I believe there may be times, particularly when I attempt to travel solo through the Caribbean in a couple of months, when I will enjoy keeping a daily journal again, and these pages will suddenly spring back to life like a erm, I don't know, like a zombie maybe.

Until then, hasta luego amigos.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Suzanne GibsonI'll be missing your blog posts here but I quite agree, you can't always have it all and blogging takes a lot of time. You made a good decision I'd say. Someday somewhere it will all appear in print, I'm quite sure.
Happy travels, you two!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Tricia GrahamOf course I will miss your posts but glad to hear nothing terrible happened that stopped them. Only a good thing. Perhaps you will write another book
Ciao
Tricia
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Sue PriceWe absolutely understand! Your life has changed a lot and it is important to focus on what matters most, which is, of course, you and Dea and your life together. We always love to read your posts and will miss them, but the other blog will have to suffice. Now go out there and enjoy the ride!!!

Sue and Jim
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
jim katzinI always worry when a tour blog goes inexplicably dark for an extended period, but I'm greatly relieved that you are both okay. I will miss the posts.

Jim
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jen RahnI've missed your posts, but appreciate your reason for abandoning this journal.

Very glad that you're both OK and that you were able to focus on enjoying your travels.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Catherine HastingsHi Chris, fair cop. Was good to see some updates on your own website in the last weeks and still be able to follow along. Your daily posts were always so detailed and generous. Thank you for them. But, I'll also get more study done if you post less often! Greetings from Malcolm and I on a short break in Penang. Foods!!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Blair BrownI'll hate not reading your blogs (generally a few weeks late), but I completely approve of your reasoning! I hope all goes well with yours and Dea's travels!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Eva WaltersHi Chris, I have very much enjoyed following your postings over the years. Just tried to log onto www.differentpartsofeverywhere.com and found the domain name has been canceled. Could you please send me the link to your new blog.
Thanks, Eva
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Chris PountneyTo Eva WaltersHi Eva, thanks for the message. We are currently blogging at https://differentpartsofeverywhere.travel.blog/ as the paid hosting got too expensive to renew.
Thanks very much for following along with our travels!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago