Day 46 Arapahoe NE to McCook NE - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2023

Day 46 Arapahoe NE to McCook NE

as as so, many bicycle tours have said, what a difference, a Day makes“. After a quick breakfast, I picked up my bike, said my goodbyes to Peter and Henry and was ready to go. The first 30 miles were relatively flat with a gentle, gradual elevation. After about 15 miles I stopped in the town of Cambridge. I thought to myself a town with the name of Cambridge should have a park and it did. It was a gem of a park. It had a perennial garden with sculptures. I had clean bathrooms. It had beautiful trees that were labeled with the name of tree, it also had an area for camping. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
How true!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Farmer sculpture
Heart 2 Comment 0
A bit of whimsy
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sign by the men’s bathroom
Heart 3 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltGreat sign by the bathrooms!! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Even a free library with decent books
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I could’ve spent hours here. I noticed as I was riding away that there was a small schoolhouse museum as well. The park really uplifted my spirits. And the shoulder on US 6/34 was wonderful. (Before Cambridge, it had been very rutted- a continuation of yesterday.)

Outside of Cambridge: soybeans on the right and …
Heart 1 Comment 0
… corn on the right
Heart 1 Comment 0
Trains are big and frequent here. No two hour delays though.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Peter pulled over on his way to the city park in McCook so I could say hello to Henry. Henry gets very upset when the pack is separated. Lots of barking and howling, the usual Henry greeting. 

Continuing on, I found this barn in Bartley. Not sure if it was moved there or if the town grew up around it. 

Heart 4 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltVery unusual octagonal barn!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

The wheat fields are so thick it looks like you could walk on top of them. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

Aftet arriving at Karrer Park in McCook, I showered and we went to the Bieroc Cafe and Sehnert’s Bakery in town. I had a delicious turkey, bacon, apple and cheese sandwich. Peter had a ground beef and cabbage sandwich that supposedly won a James Beard award. Mine was so good, we ordered a second one to split. We loaded up on pastries and ciabatta buns then did a Walmart run. I’m very excited because I finally found some Starbucks instant coffee so I can simplify my morning routine and hopefully get started earlier. 
In the evening, we were sitting outside and this cool bug insisted on crawling on my chair. 

Little bug get off my chair so you don’t get squished!
Heart 3 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltPentatomid bug nymph. Possibly a spined soldier bug. Photos look similar.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/142277-Podisus-maculiventris/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Julie O’NeillI am sorry you lost a good friend...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillYou would’ve loved Ben! Such a great thinker and teller of tales.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Our day ended on a sad note as one of our dear friends passed away last night. He was one of my favorite persons, a real renaissance man, a tinkerer, an inventor , a storyteller. Peter and I stayed up late reminiscing about Ben. Our hearts are heavy. 

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 1,771 miles (2,850 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Bill ShaneyfeltSad to learn about the passing of a dear friend. It happens more and more often as we age.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rich FrasierMy sympathies for the loss of your friend. Bill is right that it happens more and more at our ages, but that doesn't make it any easier.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich. It’s so hard to loose special people in your life and community.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks Bill.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ed SpeareSorry for your loss if a good friend!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Susan WelchSo sorry to hear about your friend’s passing, Sandy. Thinking lots of you and Peter…and Henry!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago