Day 45 Franklin NE to Arapahoe NE - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2023

Day 45 Franklin NE to Arapahoe NE

After making my breakfast in the hotel room, I set out on what was for me the most challenging day yet. There was a three quarter to full on headwind the entire day. The first hour was the best before the wind picked up with frequent gusts that threatened to push me into the rumble strips or worse. I was, however, pleasantly  surprised to find more shoulders than I anticipated. And the first 10 miles there were no rumble strips. Most of the hills were in the initial 30 miles and were a welcome relief as they helped to block the wind. 

Just an old store front I liked in Republican City
Heart 2 Comment 0
The milkweed is in full bloom
Heart 0 Comment 0

I opted not to take the unpaved road on the route today as it looked hilly on the elevation profile and I didn’t know what the surface was. This actually shortened the route by 1 mile. My rear end is always rooting for the shorter route. I passed through the outskirts of Alma. The high school had a nice football field with a beautiful track. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Also in Alma:

I like to skip both
Heart 4 Comment 0

After leaving Alma, the highway was back to this silly business:

Is this a measure of State frugality? Why can’t they make the shoulders continuous?
Heart 1 Comment 3
Julie O’NeillI am picturing you, solo cyclist, on these weird roads - you are just amazing!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillNah. Just a little lonely. Good thing I have Henry and Peter when I finish cycling.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltHow strange to do the road shoulders like that -- perhaps they aren't finished yet....!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
The longest row of hay bales I’ve ever seen
Heart 2 Comment 0
A new flower today- purple poppy mallow
Heart 3 Comment 0

There were a lot more irrigators today 

I wish it would sprinkle some my way
Heart 1 Comment 0

On the way out of Edison:

Tiny
Heart 1 Comment 1
Huge!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was relieved to get to Arapahoe. The wind was with me coming into town from the highway. South Park is a very nice campground; it looks well maintained. 

Today was exhausting. I didn’t even notice that Peter cut his hair for the first time this trip. Now about that beard…

Heart 4 Comment 0

The wind forecast for tomorrow is more favorable. Hallelujah!

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 1,732 miles (2,787 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0