Day 44 Lebanon Ks to Franklin NE - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2023

Day 44 Lebanon Ks to Franklin NE

I woke up at 5:30 as usual and rushed to get ready. I opened an oatmeal packet and poured it in Henry’s bowl. Oh boy, this is not a good sign. Luckily his bowl was clean but I did change bowls before proceeding. After the usual slathering of sunblock, I  pumped up my tires, did my goodbyes and was on the road by about 7:15. Later than I wish but ok as I have a shorter day. Still trying to acclimate my butt to the saddle. 

I love riding in the early morning; it’s so peaceful and I love the lighting. 

Countryside outside Lebanon
Heart 3 Comment 1
Susan WelchI love this photo Sandy….
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Back on US36 towards Smith Center
Heart 2 Comment 0

Cycling through Kansas has been an unexpected pleasure. There’s enough undulation in the road to prevent outright boredom, especially traveling alone, although as mentioned previously, the hills have become gentle but long. Sometimes I feel like I’m on the road to nowhere. 

Heart 3 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltI participated in the Biking Across Kansas ride event in 2004, and there were a number of days where it was quite hilly, which surprised me. And LOTS of history / historical markers along the way.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

In addition, the roads I traveled through Kansas were in excellent condition and frequently had adequate shoulders. And Kansas drivers and people in general have been very courteous if not downright friendly. 

I stopped in the parking lot of a Church in Smith Center to have a snack then noticed there was a park next door. I checked it out as I knew there was nothing between Smith Center and Franklin, over 30 miles. The bathroom (pit toilet) was immaculate. It looked like you could tent camp there. There are water spigots and picnic benches. A very nice little spot. 

Cleanest park bathroom I’ve ever seen
Heart 2 Comment 0

After turning north on SR 8, there were several more long slightly steeper climbs with some impressive vistas. My iPhone doesn’t really capture it. 

That’s probably looking at Nebraska
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally entered Nebraska and what do I see? Rumble strips, totally unnecessary rumble strips. And head winds. And steeper grades, which wouldn’t bother me if they had adequate, continuous shoulders.  What they did was install a broad shoulder going up hills but discontinue it NEAR the top of the hill. And to get on and off the shoulder you’re bound to hit the rumble strip. Who designs these things anyway? I’m definitely not in Kansas anymore. 

Heart 1 Comment 2
Jim LaneHooray, your on your way.....back home!! Don't let a little cornhusker breeze slow you down. Z
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Jim LaneThanks Zippy! Can’t Walton see you guys! Henry missed Macha!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I beat Peter and Henry to Franklin. We’re staying in the motel here as the RV park is filled with construction workers. Not looking forward to the ride to Arapahoe tomorrow as it involves a lot of steeper hills with no shoulder and of course the mandatory rumble strip. Why don’t they put those in the middle of the road instead of on the sides, especially when the road is just traversing a bunch of fields?   
On a more uplifting note,I’ve been noticing these flowering plants along the roadways and fields . It turns out it’s yellow sweet clover, a nitrogen-fixing legume. And I thought it was just a weed. 

Yellow sweet clover
Heart 1 Comment 0

Time to hit the sack so I can get going  tomorrow before the headwind becomes a gale. 

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,673 miles (2,692 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Ed SpeareWhen you went through Barnes, KS, you were 30 miles due north of Ft Riley, where Suzy and I were stationed with the 1st Infantry Division for 2 years, 1991-93! Those small down Kansas folks are the salt of the earth people. Congrats on getting into Nebraska and past the geographical center of the country!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Ed SpeareThanks Ed! So true about folks in Kansas!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago