Day 43 Belleville KS to Lebanon KS - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2023

Day 43 Belleville KS to Lebanon KS

Today was a straight shot down US36 until the turnoff for Lebanon. Leaving Belleville, I noticed an odd museum. 

Unfortunately closed due to Covid. I suppose it’s never going to reopen.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Susan WelchI wonder what animated carvings are?!?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Looks like another abandoned gas station
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Movie Theater on the town square is still operational. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

The road was gentle but long grades, mostly 2-3%, occasionally kicking up a bit. After passing the outskirts of Scandia, which has a nice picnic area if you’re looking for a place to eat,  I crossed the Republican River. 

Looks like someone had fun playing in the sand with motorized somethingorothers.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The route only went through one town, Mankato, which has a few options for food. I stopped in Mac’s Kwik Stop for cold drinks and a pit stop.  
I passed a few feed lots. Luckily the wind wasn’t blowing from their direction. There were a lot of fields of mostly corn and wheat that were research plots for Kansas State and one for a local high school. I also saw some really beautiful large black cows; I didn’t take their picture because it was on an uphill. 

I wonder if this is just hay storage or a future feed lot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We’re camping in Lebanon tonight which is about 2 miles north of US 36. It’s about a mile from the geographic center of the country. There’s a motorcycle rally, the Smackdab Motorcycle Run, that starts there tomorrow and heads to the geographic center of North Dakota over 16 hours. Some riders are staying at at the campground. Could be a bit noisy tonight. 
Lebanon is a cute little town with few businesses but it has a very nice visitor’s center. 

Heart 3 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltMaking use of an old gas station - good idea!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Even I don’t remember prices like this.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThe lowest gas price I remember is 32 cents, I think!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Interesting house for the day in Lebanon
Heart 0 Comment 0

We went to the Geographical Center and were underwhelmed. 

Henry wants to visit the chapel. Not sure what religion has to do with the geographical center.
Heart 1 Comment 0
These were stamped into the concrete sidewalk
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a delicious take out dinner from Pete’s in Smith Center,  we’re just chillin with Henry. It was a good day but I wish I had a riding partner. 

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 1,627 miles (2,618 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Julie O’NeillSolo riding, for over 1500 miles, cannot be easy! I was so glad Sue and I rode together!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillYou two would be fun to ride with!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago