Day 42 Washington KS to Belleville Ks - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2023

Day 42 Washington KS to Belleville Ks

To day is Peter’s birthday so I plan a late start and a short day. I got up and made expression for the birthday boy, sang him Las Mananitas (I don’t have a Spanish keyboard) and gave Peter his cinnamon rolls. They’re quite large so he couldn’t finish a whole one so I helped. They’re delicious even after getting carried in a pannier in the heat. I helped Peter with hooking up the trailer. Peter insisted on dropping me off just beyond the construction on the main drag US36 due to the narrow lanes and heavy truck traffic. There’s no way to get around it on side streets. Since it’s his birthday, I agreed.

The route today is a straight shot west on 36. Gentle but long ups and downs. Lots of highway noise. The landscape is changing from primarily crops (corn, wheat, and soybeans) to grazing land. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

It’s very hard to find shade so I ate my snack on the shaded tongue of this highway sign. 

Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltYea, it's difficult to find shade in Kansas when you're biking on the roads!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

For lunch, I couldn’t find shade but found you can sit on the rubber base of these orange traffic separators (the DOT is preparing for road construction) and lean back- an impromptu chair!

Not a bad seat- better than sitting on an ant colony
Heart 3 Comment 0

I’m taking the birthday boy out for Mexican food tonight. Until then we’re just lounging around, taking Henry to the dog park and checking out Rocky Pond.  

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 1,573 miles (2,531 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Nancy HornikHappy belated birthday Peter!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Nancy HornikPeter says thanks! And doesn’t Mr Hornik have a birthday coming up?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Julie O’NeillHope Peter enjoyed his birthday...especially your serenade and the food!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago