Day 47 McCook NE to Enders NE - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2023

Day 47 McCook NE to Enders NE

The force was with me today- the wind that is! I had a great ride with either a tailwind or a quartering tailwind most of the way. This was especially helpful in the last 20 miles when the wind picked up significantly. 

Leaving McCook, I pedaled through neighborhoods just north of downtown. There seemed to be a competition between two neighbors for most whimsical. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

As I was leaving town (on a dirt/sand road), the train was arriving. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

After crossing the railroad tracks, I got back on US 6. Lots of farms, cows, corn, soybeans, and wheat. 

The white cow was really keeping its eye on me.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Nice garden I passed.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow, I agree, a great vegetable garden they have! But then, they have great soil and manure!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
I liked this tree. It has character. Looks like it’s seen some troubles in its life.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Aftet Culbertson, the skies before me were overcast but behind me was a different story. 

I might have dodged a bullet.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This road is pretty darn straight
Heart 2 Comment 0

Before Palisade, there was road construction where there was a seven mile stretch of one lane traffic. The speed limit was 65. Let’s just say I pedaled my ass off and got through it alive. 

Waiting for the pilot vehicle. There are three trucks behind me.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped at a convenience store in Palisade for cold ice tea and ate my lunch. I also found a present for Peter. 

Heart 4 Comment 1
Peter EarleMade her husband very happy! :-)
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

   

It’s so sad to see farms that likely were at one time thriving and beautiful to be in such decay. The house was in similar shape.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I don’t know what to say about this.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I passed into mountain time today. I hope to get a good night’s sleep tonight!  The country is starting to look more like arid grasslands. Lots of wind. Tomorrow could be a hard day. 

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 1,825 miles (2,937 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Julie O’NeillThe cloudy sky looked ominous. I have not seen you post about a riding through bad weather. That would be amazing on a trip cross country. Hope luck stays with you!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago