Day 48 Enders NE to Holyoke CO - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2023

Day 48 Enders NE to Holyoke CO

Last night we had a storm front move through with thunder, lightning, hale and heavy rain. Glad not to be in a tent. 

Strange clouds before the storm.
Heart 2 Comment 0

On the way into Imperial, about ten miles into the ride, I saw some trains with great graffiti. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

Once again there was road construction with traffic down to one lane. One of the workers told me it wasn’t for a long distance and suggested cutting through town to get around it. I’d rather see the neighborhood than highway 6 anyway. 

A nice street side flower garden with blue flax and cornflowers. I especially liked the truck behind it.
Heart 3 Comment 0

When I rejoined US6 it had turned north and there was a bit of a headwind. 

These silos made me think “suck it up Sandy”
Heart 4 Comment 2
Sandy EarleTo Susan WelchIt was the logo on the silos. Not a very good photo….
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Prairie sunflowers
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nice grasses
Heart 3 Comment 0

The route was mostly westerly and generally had a crosswind to occasional quartering tailwind. Overall a good ride. 

Happy to see this sign!
Heart 4 Comment 1
Susan WelchWowza!!! Colorado!!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

We’re staying at the RV park at Phillips County Fairgrounds. I went to the laundromat and Peter brought home some delicious tacos from Happy Jacks BBQ restaurant. The smoked brisket was to die for. And I’m not a big meat eater. 

We think we may have a solution to accommodations when we get to Fort Collins in a few days. It’s 4th of July weekend and everywhere has been booked for months. Peter found a cabin where we can store the trailer for 3 days. I need to get my bike looked at. I think I need a new chain and cassette. Life is good. 


Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 1,873 miles (3,014 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Julie O’NeillYou are coming into CO way up in the NE corner! Fort Collins will be great! Thinking that bike service in Ft Collins area will be readily available.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillNot on 4th of July week. Managed to get my chain and cassette replaced but no tuneup. Gears were slipping again badly on the climb to the pass. I’m going to try and adjust it on the fly when I get some nice flat terrain and good weather. My barrel adjuster is right below the handle bars.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago