Ready To Go! - Know When to Fold Them - CycleBlaze

November 14, 2023

Ready To Go!

Arrived in NZ

Catching up with rels, and seeing the Nelson area again after a three year hiatus has been great fun. I’ve only been here for 24 hours but it feels like home. 

And today also have time to assemble the bike, and gather stuff which can be loaded onto it. The KHS 20” folding bike has been stored by my rels for almost three years. It seems to be in good condition, and this morning I packed it in preparation for tomorrow’s ride.

I’m using Carradice bags to carry most of the gear. The photo shows the set up. 

Making the best of what’s available
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 3
George HallI'm looking forward to following along on your journey. The thought of cycle touring in New Zealand has long intrigued me - maybe someday... In the meantime, I'll live the journey vicariously as you experience it. Best of luck,
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Graham SmithThanks George. Now the pressure is on me to journal more diligently! I’ll do my best.

I highly recommend NZ as a cycle touring destination. I’m fairly biased because my wife is a New Zealander, so I’ve visited here often over the past 40 years, and I’ve done quite a few bike tours.

The NZ government has spent an enormous amount of $ on cycle touring infrastructure, and NZ generally supports tourism to a high standard. Well worth visiting. It’s a beautiful country.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Graham SmithGood to hear. NZ is high on my list too, especially if my ability to alpine ski is indeed gone.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago