Hvar rest days - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2023 to June 6, 2023

Hvar rest days

Went for a walk up to the castle the first  morning after arriving.  Lots of stairs!! I counted, well over 200! 🥵 The views were amazing!!  I didn’t go in as they charged an admission fee, but it was fun anyways.

The main square, empty during the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love the quiet little walkways through town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going up!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Okay, now we've got cairns on the side of the wall?!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Glory and I on our way up. It was a great path up to the castle in a wooded/garden area
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spectacular! I'm loving it here even more!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entrance to the castle
Heart 0 Comment 0
I sat on this bench for a few taking it all in. When I stood up to leave, that cactus plant on the left stabbed me in the arm and drew blood. Bad cactus!
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltCentury plant (Agave americana). Yup, they can draw blood! I have experience.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agave_americana
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltDamn plants! Good to know I'm not the only one!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is that my yacht arriving?
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a "ferry" ring 🤣
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going down
Heart 0 Comment 0
Found this guy in front of a ?church?
Heart 0 Comment 0

The next morning crappy weather and thunderstorm warnings in effect, my boat tour plans were put on hold.  A day to do some relaxing and route planning.  Weather doesn’t look super promising for tomorrow either.  Darn, I guess I’ll have to stay a couple more days.  

Storms complete with large hail!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I decided to move to a hostel that just opened for the season.  It was just down the street and only $15E per night.  Hoping to meet some people as I've been kind of isolated.   In the meantime, these are the friends I’ve made here ❤️

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

On my last day here, I took a long walk to a remote beach or two today.  The hike was nice.  There have been horrible thunderstorms the last couple of days.  I was waiting them out because I want to do an all day boat tour to the island of Vis (where Mama Mia 2 was filmed) and also to see this famous “blue cave.”  Sometimes they close access to the cave for various reasons.  I just learned they don’t decide until the morning when they see the conditions.  Because of all the rain, there’s a good chance the water will be too high and it will be closed tomorrow.  

Kind of disappointed, but it might be time to move on.  The lady told me the app they use to see the notice as of course my ferry leaves before my boat tour would leave….decisions, decisions but I am kind of anxious to get back on my bike — even if it is to another island 😂

I went around that point and kept going to Robinson beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look closely, it's that little beach tucked in on the left
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hard to tell in this pic, but this was another beach with really white stones
Heart 0 Comment 0
...and another beach to enjoy if you wish
Heart 0 Comment 0
Isn't this the coolest flower ever?
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPassionflower

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Passiflora
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

And just in case you doubted me about this being the hangout for the rich and famous, let's just say I was a little stunned when I rounded the corner of the promenade one evening and tons of yachts had arrived.  Wow!  I think these guys are a little out of my league.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Check out those yachts!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Decent view of the castle from the other side of town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bye Hvar! It's been fun!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0