A little update and house/cat sitting job - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2023

A little update and house/cat sitting job

I fell very far behind on my last journal of my trip through Africa.  Will continue to work on that although basically, the Africa section is done.  I continued with a bit of cycling in Canada and the US before a bit of a forced break.

My last days of cycling had caused what I thought was just a recurring foot problem.  Well, it was that and oh so much more.  In the end, I needed foot and ankle surgery.  Lucky for me, I had been asked, and had agreed, to house and cat sit for Rachel and Patrick Hugens so they could go off on a trip.  They are pretty well known and very experienced cyclists and I had previously met them, both at their home in Boise as well as a chance meet up when they were on their Northern Tier trip.  I would have a place to recover and take it easy after surgery.

Saying goodbye to Patrick and Rachel
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here’s their journal.  They are traveling through Morocco and Europe until mid-June

Racpat Morocco to Holland 2023 - CycleBlaze

I did a bit of bouncing around and visiting friends before having the surgery in Phoenix and spent the first 3 weeks recuperating there before heading to Boise.  Just fyi - I had a partial plantar fasciitis release, a tarsal tunnel release (basically like carpal tunnel, but in the foot) as well as a repair of almost completely torn ankle ligaments that didn't really even bother me.  I was non-weight bearing for two weeks, then in a walking boot for another 2-3 weeks, and finally, a sturdy ankle brace for 4 weeks.  Not a whole of chance for exercise during that time although I got some in the last month.

At least my dr picked a nice color for the cast
Heart 0 Comment 0
A rainbow of colors after stitches have been remove. I had incisions on both the inner and outer ankle.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I really enjoyed my down time at their house and taking care of their three kitties.  Had I known how much I would appreciate being in the same spot every night, I would have agreed to their initial request which was a bit longer.  Instead, I'm splitting duties with Patrick's parents who have housesat for the before and will be coming over from Holland.

Tashi - she’d always come snuggle with me when I went upstairs to watch tv
Heart 2 Comment 0
Miles - he clearly wants to come with me as he’s sitting in my suitcase as I’m packing up.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ocho - he was cuddly, but got sick my last week there which was a bit stressful as no clear diagnosis could be made. He started getting better right as I was leaving.
Heart 2 Comment 0
He likes me 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0

I actually really enjoyed the down time and being in the same place every day.  It went so well they've asked me if I would be interested in doing it again for them in the fall.  A solid yes from me, but in the meantime, I can get in a bike tour.  Let's hope my foot is up to the task.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachel and Patrick HugensThank you for taking care of our cats and house so well. We will see you this fall.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rachel and Patrick HugensYou are welcome. Glad Ocho got better, was worried it was going to cost me my job for awhile, lol.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago