Off to Ohio to get my bike and visit my friends on the farm - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

April 19, 2023

Off to Ohio to get my bike and visit my friends on the farm

When I ended my trip last fall, it was at my friend's farm in Ohio.  Because my travel plans were so hectic, I ended up leaving my bike there at the last minute.  I figured if all else fails, Ohio is a great place to start another bike tour.  What was suppose to be a week long stay before catching a flight to Rome, Italy turned into a three week stay.  Why you ask?  Well, I needed a new passport and submitted it in time including paying for expedited shipping.  The government got slammed with passport requests so as I kept watching, my status wasn't changing.  I followed all their directions and arranged for it to get shipped to me in Ohio, at this point paying for overnight mail.  Finally, I saw the status say "approved" and next thing I know my friend in Arizona is getting a notice that it's going to be delivered.  Even though I talked to someone, and they confirmed they had the new Ohio address, it mysteriously disappeared out of their system.  Had they mailed it correctly, I would have had it in time for my flight.

So now, what the hell am I going to do?  I was flying on an award ticket purchased using frequent flier miles.  Had the weather not been so bad in Ohio and Pennsylvania, I'm pretty sure I would have headed towards the GAP and C&O trails again and continue to Florida.  At one point, I even purchased a ticket to Orlando and was going to head north instead because of the weather.  However, when I woke up in the morning, I knew my heart was in going to Europe.  I looked and looked and finally made the decision to fly to Venice instead of Rome.  It just meant spending some extra time on the farm, which I actually really enjoy. 

Also, had to get reacquainted with my bike, it needed a new rear cassette, chain and some brake cables.  And then an ongoing seat issue.  Let's just say at the last minute, I once again swapped out my Brooks B-17 saddle and am starting this trip with a new one.  

I got 80 miles in while at their house and I'm counting them because as far as I am concerned, my trip started.  I actually got to explore the towpath trails not far from their house.  Super fun.   On a side note, I was really concerned about pain levels I was still experiencing in my foot and my surgeon recommended a steroid injection to break up the scar tissue.  Literally, got that the day before I left Idaho.  Let's hope the foot holds up in Europe!

So nice to be back on my bike!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Towpath trail riding
Heart 1 Comment 0
And turtles, lots and lots of turtles!
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like painted turtles.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Painted_turtle
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kim JohnsonThanks Bill! Painted turtles are cute!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are ready for an adventure!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Debbie MooreAlways like the beginning of an adventure....you never know what will happen!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

Today's ride: 80 miles (129 km)
Total: 80 miles (129 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0