Stari Grad to Hvar Town (Hvar Island) - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2023

Stari Grad to Hvar Town (Hvar Island)

Omg. I am the luckiest person on the face of this planet. As I was crossing the highway to my road, I see a work truck there with two guys talking.  I briefly debated in my head…. Should I, or shouldn’t I? “I’m not stupid, I should.” “

“Are you going to the top of the mountain?”
“Yes.”
“Can I have a ride?”
“Yes”.
And away we go! 😀I thanked the guy profusely!! My angel!!

Road angel. Nice chatting with him during the ride where it was confirmed it would have been a painful ride for me. The road wasn't always the smoothest and definitely some steep sections early on.
Heart 0 Comment 0

He dropped me off at Velo Grablje.  I thought he was dropping me off in the little town of Brusje.  At any rate, just a bit more climbing to do and I handled it with ease.  The views were amazing!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back towards Stari Grad
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hvar's somewhere down there
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love it. This is the old road to Hvar town so there's not much traffic anymore. Fine with me!
Heart 0 Comment 0
From other blogs I had read, I knew there was a great little restaurant in Brusje. My old purple Surly troll would have colored coordinated well with this bike. 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hanging out with the locals at the restaurant
Heart 0 Comment 0
Had some "pancakes" with a lavender filling and ice cream. It said "pancakes", so I justified it for a second breakfast. Technically, it was a dessert so I'm going with, "Really, it was Glory who ate it."
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think this car has seen better days
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going down
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not Hvar. The peninsula on the opposite side of Hvar town
Heart 0 Comment 0

Needless to say, I arrived early and had plenty of time to check out Hvar once I got settled.  And omg, part II. I LOVE Hvar!! And so begins the part I was most looking forward to on this trip. The islands! I have a cute room with a fridge for only $7 more per night than a dorm bed at the hostel. The downside is I won't get to meet other people, but that’s okay for now. It’s peaceful.  I did stop at one hostel with an amazing view, but wasn't too impressed overall.

Great room at Apartments Pape. Run by a mother and son. Super kind and she even offered to do my laundry for me for free! A cyclist's dream. 🤣
Heart 0 Comment 0

And omg, part II. I LOVE Hvar!! And so begins the part I was most looking forward to on this trip. The islands! I have a cute room with a fridge for only $7 more per night than a dorm bed at the hostel. Thr downside is I wont get to meet other people, but that’s okay for now. It’s peaceful and quiet. I walked to town along the waterfront promenade. So nice! Stores are close by and I’m heading to the beach soon for a swim I think.

Hvar is a swanky little hot spot for the rich and famous. I fit neither of those categories 😂I booked two nights, but I am sure I will be extending my stay. Not too long though, I just felt like my legs were getting strong! I’ve still got miles to pedal.

I walked to town along the waterfront promenade. So nice! Stores are close by and when I got back, I decided to head to the beach for a swim.  More pictures tomorrow.  Just thrilled to be here for a few days.

Following the sea front promenade into town. A wonderful walk every day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the left is Croatia's version of a beach. All the beaches here are rocky. You deal with it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have a friend I stayed with in Toronto who loves Corey and Bryan's music as much as I do. Her name is Adriana so of course I took a picture of the Adriana Hotel and sent it to her.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Of course I had my daily ice cream fix.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 467 miles (752 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Tara LaycockHi Kim, we met @ the side of the road the other day. I made it to Shkoder and waiting out the rain. If you are too, get in touch? Maybe you went to Bari instead…

Also some intel - I rode along the lake from Virprazar and stuck to pavement. Almost no traffic and good if you’re deciding on a route. But there are hills.

Tara.laycock@gmail.com
01-604-250-8205
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kim JohnsonDang it, I forgot to respond yesterday. Are you still i Shkoder? I’m guessing not, but I am still here if you are around. Catching ferry to Ancona in a few days. I’ll e-mail you as well. It was so great to meet you!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago