Split to Star Grad (Hvar Island) - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2023

Split to Star Grad (Hvar Island)

Well sh*t.  I walked down to the port last night and talked to the ferry companies about boats to Hvar town.  Jardrolina told me yes, but really, the go to Hvar island, NOT, Hvar town.  But I didn't know that.  The price $16.  Sold!  And then shortly after I've purchased the ticket, she tells me the ferry goes to Stari Grad.  What?!  I was somewhat pissed off and somewhat amused.  The problem is, I'm on the 11:00 ferry so I will be arriving during the hottest part of the day.  Although it's only 13 miles to Hvar town, there's this little problem of a huge mountain to climb up and over first.  Had I known I was going to end up here, I would have gone to Brac Island first, which was in my original plans.  Anyways, #lostintranslation.

Split's lovely waterfront. See ya!
Heart 1 Comment 0
IS that the fast ferry to Hvar?!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can think of so many funny comments I could say here...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenic view. I think that's Brac island.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Anyone want to go sailing?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hvar island in the distance. Those mountains look big, just sayin'
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hello Jardrolina line
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Brac island in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
As we approach Hvar, me thinking to myself, "Oh, this doesn't look good."
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
"I'm gonna die" 🤣
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching the car ferry port at Stari Grad
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stari Grad town down there
Heart 0 Comment 0
The water, as always, looks beautiful
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the end, I decided so spend the night in Stari Grad and tackle the climb in the morning.  I thought I saved $24 in ferry costs to add to my "cold drinks and gelato budget," but in the end, it cost me more to spend the night there. 

Perfect room for the night
Heart 0 Comment 0

I did walk into town and check it out.  As always cute, but much quieter than the other towns I've been visiting.  I tried some lavender gelato, it's a thing, but I actually didn't really care for it.  Lavender is grown all over Croatia so there are a lot of booths selling all things lavender.  

Stari Grad
Heart 0 Comment 0
So quiet in the afternoon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quaint
Heart 0 Comment 0
Love the color
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenic shot
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A black cat is crossing my path! Is that bad?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 458 miles (737 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0