Caprile to Agordo - Fibonacci Scribble - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2022

Caprile to Agordo

the long way

I’d spent the last several days wondering if I should ride the route I’d planned, over Fornella Staulanza and Passo Duran, or if I should take a break and ride the flat route down the Cordevole valley to Agordo.  Surely I could manage the two remaining hilly days?  There would be only two more days of riding after that, both flat and one very short.  Besides, what would there be to do in Agordo if I got there before noon?  I looked—not much.  So I decided to go for it. Al, of course, was riding the passes.  He’d wanted to do Staulanza in 2018 but it hadn’t fit their itinerary.

Of course, a good dinner the night before helps. Half-board at Hotel La Montanina is recommended. Hotel guests eat in the dining room where there’s an antipasto buffet with lots of veggies and salads. Then you are served the first and second courses you’ve previously chosen from three options for each, followed by a choice of dessert.

My first course: potato ravioli stuffed with spinach in a fantastic tomato sauce and sprinkled with poppyseeds. This was so so good! My second course (roast turkey with thyme) was also nice, but suffered from following this and wasn’t very photogenic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dessert: pannacotta with chocolate sauce.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hôtel La Montanina in Caprile. I’d definitely stay here again.
Heart 1 Comment 0

In the morning, we set off up the Fiorentina Valley.  The beginning had looked relatively flat on the profile but it wasn’t, and then came the switchbacks up to Selva di Cadore.  This was one of the steepest parts of the Staulanza climb. 

We knew there would be tunnels so we were prepared.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Margie AndersonWow, even the bracing is impressive!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
One of the hairpin turns going up to Selva di Cadore
Heart 5 Comment 0

After Selva was a series of villages, all part of Val Fiorentina.  The road followed this valley until the final few switchbacks to the top, with nice views to provide some distraction from the effort.

Climbing distraction
Heart 4 Comment 0
An interesting house in Val Fiorentina (Al’s photo)
Heart 4 Comment 0
A different view of the same type of blue flower—another photo taken while catching my breath.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Al’s getting better at selfies
Heart 5 Comment 0
I’m working on it
Heart 5 Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonYou even got your bike in the picture!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
In Tuscany there were pale yellow dandelions. Here some of them are orange.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltOrange hawkweed.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pilosella_aurantiaca
Reply to this comment
1 year ago


Then it was down, a long way down. The bottom of the descent was lower than our starting point but it seemed we came down a lot more than we’d gone up.

Views on the descent
Heart 5 Comment 0
We had to stop occasionally to just look.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Margie AndersonGood for you. I’m glad you do too
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
The village of Dont
Heart 3 Comment 0
Passo Duran is that way. Dont! The climb starts either here; of you look closely, you can see the road ascending behind the church.
Heart 4 Comment 0

At Dont, we turned onto a narrow road for the climb up to Passo Duran. It was immediately steep and the steepest parts were through the villages in the first half of the climb. By this point it was hot and I took some short breaks in the shade when I found it.  I filled my empty bottle at a running village tap to ensure I’d have enough water as my second bottle was no longer full, but didn’t end up needing it. Better to lug a bit of extra than run out on such a day!

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Made it! I’m still working on selfies so back to bike portraits.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Al was waiting at the top and then came what seemed like the longest descent I can remember doing, but since I know I’ve done longer ones than 12 km, I think the unrelenting grade made it seem longer.  I was glad I wasn’t climbing this way!

More views on the way down
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

My previous research was correct. Agordo isn’t a tourist town and there wasn’t much available for lunch on a Saturday. It’s location, though, is very nice, surrounded by high peaks in every direction. The town was once home to the world’s largest eyewear company and there is still a big Luxottica plant here. In the words of the regional tourism website, “ Agordo has never developed a proper long-term plan for tourist welcome, maintenance and promotion, since the majority of its population deals with eyewear industry rather than tourism.”

So we shared a panini and each had a slice of apple strudel at a bar that was open before continuing a few hundred metres to our B&B. Later, when we headed out for dinner at a restaurant that sounded good, we were a bit surprised that is was across the river and adjacent to the Luxottica plant. The food was good, the portions large, and we were the only non-Italians there.

Spaghetti with seafood. I couldn’t eat it all but it was good.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Agordo is in a spectacular setting. Mountain views in every direction!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Not sure why the plant was located here. Maybe somebody wanted a factory with a view?
Heart 5 Comment 3
Keith AdamsToo bad the plant rather spoils the view...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Keith AdamsThere are views in every direction and some of us need glasses to see them.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Margie AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetGood come back Jacquie! This is a hilarious shot, and never knew the history. Fascinating!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Agordo
Heart 5 Comment 0
My Garmin had some trouble locating me in the deep valley as we started up Val Fiorentina but we were on SP 20 all the way to Selva di Cadore.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Tricia GrahamWhat an amazing ride I am so enjoy your blog and will miss my morning fix when you finish. That coutryside is spectacular
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonYou sure are tough doing all those climbs! It makes me tired just reading about it. The scenery looks spectacular!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Margie AndersonWay to go Jacquie. Your journey has been awesome to follow!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago