End of the series (for now) - Fibonacci Scribble - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2022

End of the series (for now)

We've been home for a month now, plenty of time to recover and get around to finishing this journal--though I'd rather be out riding my bike.  Too hot for me today so I'm getting this done!

I rode a total of 2247 km and climbed 29,364 metres (after subtracting the distances on ferries and elevation gained by cableway).  Somehow Al rode 34 km further than me (a 1.5% difference, very small), but he also climbed 2628 m more than I did!  His Garmin almost always records more elevation gain than mine or his riding buddies'.  We had a total of 30 days of loaded riding and 8 unloaded day rides (plus one very short moving-accommodation day and one ride-to-the-spa day) and returned home 56 days after leaving.

Screenshot of my RWGPS collection of rides from the tour.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonQuite an impressive scribble. Thanks for taking us along!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetYou're welcome, Scott. As you know, I often use your journals for reference when planning my tours, including this one, and even more so for Sicily.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

We've given some thought to next year's trip.  Sicily here we come!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWow, those are very impressive stats! It’s funny you mentioned Al’s elevation gain is higher than yours since the same thing happens with us. Are they biased against women?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Rachael AndersonI think his Garmin is wonky but he likes it the way it is.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago