Not Much To See In This Post, Folks - A Snake, A Heart, And An Earring - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2021

Not Much To See In This Post, Folks

Spokane, Washington

Even though you clearly saw the title of this post, I thank you for tuning in anyway.  But the title isn't a stupid reverse-psychology trick;  I really don't have much to report.  The day was notable only for the gray skies, which seemed appropriate for the last day of a bike trip.  Oh yeah, there was also the 43-degree air temperature at the start.  I did half-heartedly stop for a few photos though.

Gray skies and a few clouds draping over some of the mountains.
Heart 1 Comment 0
More wild turkeys. Ho hum. I've seen many of them on this trip.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I'm really grasping at straws when I resort to taking pictures of weirdly-manicured bushes.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I did like this spot. That's probably due to the fact that it was taken when the road turned straight south with the breeze and went downhill for miles. Ahhh, good times.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezWith a good shoulder! Can't forget to appreciate that.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

                                                             ************ 

Aside from stopping for those pictures, taking a couple minutes for a swig of water and a mouthful of almonds at the Pend Oreille County Park, and one 10-minute break to stretch my legs and take a pee and shed a couple layers of clothing, I pretty much raced to the finish.

I had many thoughts going through my head.  One of those thoughts was about Tom and Savannah, the "Walk the World" duo I wrote about yesterday.  Did I seem a little star struck?  If so, that's because I WAS star struck.  I still haven't had time to read much on Tom's website, but I hope to do so in the next couple of days.

The other thing going through my head was the reunion with The Feeshko and Diggity.  With that image, I had renewed energy to pedal even harder than usual.  Finally, I got to the base of the hill leading up to where they were.  I made it in record time.  (I don't know if there is an OFFICIAL Newport to Spokane record time, but I probably beat it.)

That's the point where I wondered who would be more excited to see me, my wife or my dog.  I planned a little video of me walking in the door to see who loved me more.  Here it is.

In fairness to The Feeshko, she wasn't home at the time.  And in fairness to me, I think the only reason Diggity ran to my bike is that he smelled the beef jerky in the pannier.  In the end, though, he came back to me.

So that's the end of my bike tour.  I know it was kind of short, but I enjoyed it immensely.  I'll post my usual Grand Sweeping Conclusion sometime in the next couple of days.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 484 miles (779 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 13
Rachael AndersonGreat video of Diggity welcoming you home! Glad you made it safely back although I’m going to miss reading your journal!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith KleinHi,
Great trip, but a sigh of relief that you didn’t have any mishaps in Idaho.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lednar De NallohDiggity couldn't hide his excitement all right. Enjoyed the write up, good to see you out on the road before winter arrives. I too admire people who push their boundaries, cycle tourers, explorers etc far more than pampered Hollywood stars or overpaid sports players.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThanks for reading, Rocky. Now that I'm done with my trip I should have time to catch with what you guys are up to.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Lednar De NallohThanks Led. There's nothing like the attention I get from my little buddy.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauThanks for following along, Keith. I always enjoy your comments. I even enjoy when you publicly correct my stupidities.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierGreat trip! I love your writing - hope you can get out again soon! And you have a cute dog…
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauHi Rich, thank you for the compliments. I MIGHT just be able to get out again soon. I'll know for sure in a couple of days.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergThe video of Diggity was priceless. Nothing like the pure affection that a dog can provide. Thanks for posting this journal. Great as always.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonThanks for a great journal. So glad you enjoy writing your journals, that means we'll get more. Great video of Diggity. I didn't really expect The Feeshko to cavort like that on your return, but since she wasn't home we'll never know.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergI do appreciate your reading along, Bob. And I knew exactly what was going to happen when I walked in the door--that's why I had the camera ready to go.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonThank goodness, I don't think The Feeshko was cavorting because she arrived back at the house with her mom soon thereafter. She didn't jump up on me or shower me with face licks, but she seemed pretty happy to see me.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonWe’ll, this makes me doubly envious now - a Caribou Coffee bike shirt, AND a dog to welcome you home!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago