Shakedown ride #2 - Land of the Rabbits - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2023

Shakedown ride #2

Heart 1 Comment 0

As usual, following the spate of booking things, planning routes and preparing there's usually a bit of a lull in the weeks before the tour. Everything major is in place (touch wood) and it's a matter of counting down the days. I should probably start learning more than a few words of Spanish, but somehow keep failing to get around to it.

We did go for an (exhausting! It was really busy) shopping run in Truro where I picked up the last things I needed, but it really is such a banal list (shoes, socks etc) that even by the low standards of kit lists I'm not sure it merits much attention. The only really fun thing I bought was a Cornish bumper sticker which I plan to stick to the back of my pannier. Hopefully this won't cause them to throw jam and cream at me in Devon (I can always protest I was born there).

I really needed to keep the training up though, so though it was a bit of a dull day thought I'd would try another half-day or so run fully loaded. This time I decided to go overland to Marazion and Penzance, and then up and over the Penwith moors. This would, optionally, include rather a lot more off-roading - I was curious to see how I could handle the bike on some really rough surfaces with the combination of the heavy load and my grippy tyre.

The route I'd be following was pretty familiar, as I've done it probably a dozen times. It's extremely varied, running from tiny country lanes and byways, then following the cycleway along the coast from spectacular Marazion and St. Michael's Mount to Penzance; climbing up to the spine of Penwith where you can simultaneously see both the north (Atlantic) and south (channel) coasts. I was undecided whether I'd take the loaded bike across the moor - this could be really quite rough. I thought I'd play it by ear.

Some of the bridleways are tiny and become flooded even in July. No real trouble getting the loaded Shift down here.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It was a bit of a gray day, but the castle on St Michael's mount always looks impressive.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Marazion was full of tourists, to which the friendly but frazzled lady in the pasty shop complained to me. "When the kids are shouting for donuts, I can't hear myself think!". The cycleway along the coast was also pretty busy for such a dull day, but people are pretty good with bikes and I take it slow and thank them - it can be a tight squeeze. Though the tourists driving through the town really struggle with the tiny roads - I did have to demonstratively gesture at the obvious sign to a 4x4 which failed to give way to me.

So I was quite glad to get to Penzance, climb out the town, and get started on the tiny roads up the Bone valley. Strangest sight here was a family taking two young calfs for a walk on leads.

Penzance has a municipal e-bike hire scheme - amazing!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Right up on the moors there is a sign indicating a tiny school is there ... but there are no buildings behind. Mat Strevens is also a bit of an uncanny name (Matt? Stevens?) . I also have no idea what a CP school is...
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mark BinghamAha! Community Primary School
http://www.trythall.cornwall.sch.uk/website
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jon AylingTo Mark BinghamAah that makes sense! That is also an adorable website
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
I love these giant leaves. Passed them many times, but only just bothered to get a photo
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltGiant rhubarb from Brazil. Invasive.

https://www.environetuk.com/invasive-species/giant-rhubarb-gunnera/identification
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jon AylingTo Bill ShaneyfeltAha! Thanks Bill. Thought it looked rhubarb-ish...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bizarre bus. The curtains on the windows suggest this may be a residence sometimes, at least
Heart 2 Comment 0

The ~300m or so of climbing from sea level felt pretty good, but I was a bit tired up by the time I reached the ridgeline and thought it a good time to break for my pasty. I'd only sat down when I heard an engine coming from the barren moor behind me. A kid on a dirtbike popped out of the path - this is very much not allowed, but he gave me such a sheepish grin and friendly greeting I didn't have the heart to spoil his fun.

Equally friendly (but somewhat more legal) were a couple of mountain bikers returning to their car. They were very amiable chaps, and were pretty complementary about me riding from Hayle with the load.  I haven't heard anyone use "gnarly" unironically in a long time.

Given the relatively large amounts of traffic I'd seen, I decided to give the coast road (which is narrow, bendy and steep - if spectacular) and try to head across the moor. Surface conditions were pretty much as good as they can be, so though sometimes the singletrack was so narrow it brushed my panniers I could get the loaded bike across country without too much trouble.

I did bash my pedals against rocks a few times - though that's pretty inevitable - and sadly my Cornish flag came unstuck! I'll need to glue it more firmly I think...

Lunch stop looking up onto the moorland
Heart 2 Comment 0
The way onto the moor starts broad but quite rough
Heart 2 Comment 0
Then narrows into this, ahem, gnarly singletrack
Heart 3 Comment 0
Returning to the lanes take me back to Hayle via Lelant, we pick up bits of the St Michael's way - which is incorporated into the Way of St James, which I'll be seeing a lot more of Spain!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Overall a very successful ride - while the total climb and length wasn't as high as last week, this included some much sketchier off-road sections and I was pleased with how the bike handled.

Today's ride: 44 km (27 miles)
Total: 98 km (61 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0