Day 72 - ending at Buffalo, SD - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 25, 2023

Day 72 - ending at Buffalo, SD

Day 72 - Reva, SD to Buffalo, SD
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was really spent last night when I arrived at Reva Gap Campground. If there's a day I overdid it on this trip, I think it was yesterday. I got the tent set up and crashed.

I would have stayed here another day, but only have a gallon of water left and I need to get somewhere that has water. Surprisingly, I have a weak cell signal at this campsite. I saw that there is a motel in Buffalo, South Dakota - $90 a night. Buffalo is 20 miles away, and the road to there is fairly flat. But, there's a strong west wind today. I'd like to get caught up a little at least on journal postings, so was thinking about staying at the motel for 2 nights.

It'd rained last night, and a very little this morning. I got up at 6:55am, ate breakfast at 7:40am, then took a 1.75 hour nap starting at 9:10am. My cold is back and has settled in my chest, which is part of the reason why yesterday was so difficult.

I was ready to leave at 12:55pm, and made it to SD-20 at 1:09pm. Slow going all the way into the strong west wind, but I took it slow and easy.

Arrived at the Conoco gas station in Buffalo at 4:49pm, ten minutes after I'd turned north onto US-85. Bought a couple of chocolate milks to drink there, then headed on into town. I did some sightseeing at Centennial Park when I passed it. Just before I arrived at the motel I passed a campground - Three Toes Campground. I called the number to see if they are set up for tent camping. They are. They have wifi and electricity, and are only $10 a night for tent camping. So I'm staying here instead. They'll have a showerhouse built within a month, but for now it's just a porta-potty.

For supper I went downtown to No. 3 Saloon. Had their 'Hot Hamburger', mashed potatoes, and a caramel sundae. Drank five glasses of Dr Pepper with that.

This evening I received a call from friend Greg, a coworker from my Caterpillar days. He was once again surprised I was out bicycling in the summer heat. It did get up to 98F here today.

I'm going to bed when I have this sent. It seems like sleep helps my cold get better.

Jeff

Spent: $5.81 (chocolate milk) + $10 (campsite) + $13.75 plus $5 (supper) = $34.56

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I see now that I was camping at the Horse Area Campsite - Site #9.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 2,901 miles (4,669 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltAgreed... Sleep is good for the immune system. Sleep well!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rich FrasierJeff - it sounds like your body is telling you to back off and rest. I think you were wise to plan a couple of days off. Hope you feel better soon!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago