Day 73 - still at Buffalo, SD - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2023

Day 73 - still at Buffalo, SD

I'm taking the day off today at this campground in Buffalo, South Dakota to work on journal postings, so I sleep in until 6:38am. I think I forgot to mention last night that this would be a day off. My cold isn't getting any better, but then again it isn't really getting any worse. It's a little less runny nose and a little more congestion. As you know, I have everything I need here except a showerhouse. I did decide to put on clean clothes this morning. That helped.

At 8:10am, I rode downtown to Blossoms and Brew for breakfast. Had The Stacker (an eggs, bacon, sausage, and cheese sandwich) and a pancake. Then back to the campground to work on postings. I sat on the grass outside the tent, moving around as the shade did. During a phone call with my wife, the camp hostess brought over a camp chair for me to use!

I was happy with the progress I was making with the postings. Since there's a laundromat right here at the campground, at 3:15pm I started a load of laundry.

I headed back downtown at 4:50pm. First stop was Supervalu grocery store for a few lunch bag food items. I was also looking for some cold medicine, especially a decongestant. I was surprised at the prices for the cold medicines, so decided to do without. Right now, I wish I'd paid the money, but the store is closed now until tomorrow morning.

My next stop was back to No. 3 Saloon for supper. This time I had root beer instead of Dr Pepper. I don't know if Dr Pepper has caffeine or not, but my sleep last night suggested it does. I also had a BLT sandwich and a chocolate sundae. I forgot to mention it last night, but I found it interesting that all the TVs at No. 3 Saloon were (and still are) tuned to a channel showing rodeo competitions.

I was back at the campground at 6:10pm. More report work until near 8:00pm. The campground owner was out next to the laundromat building constructing the new showerhouse. I went over to ask if I could stay yet one more night, which would be tomorrow night. I think tomorrow I could get all caught up on postings, at least I'm going to try.

I have hay fever pills with me. I'm going to take one of those and see if I can get a better night's sleep tonight.

Jeff

Spent: $10 (campsite) + $10.33 plus $3 (breakfast) + $3 (laundry) + $19.25 (lunch bag items, Spray N Wash) + $12 plus $4 (supper) = $61.58

Blossoms and Brew
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Where the new showerhouse will be at Three Toes Campground.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Entrance to H and L SuperValu grocery store.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
No. 3 Saloon
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Today's lunch bag purchases. Well, not the Spray 'n Wash.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0