Day 31 - still at Plainview, TX - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2023

Day 31 - still at Plainview, TX

I booked two nights here at the Super 8 in Plainview last night. I think I forgot to mention that yesterday. Today was to try to get caught up on journal postings and get other stuff done.

I was up at 6:45am, and eating breakfast in the motel lobby at 7:25am. I took a break from report writing at 10:30am to call Walmart. They have one here in Plainview. Their pharmacy did have the quantity of pills needed to fill my prescription! I backed the still-loaded bike out of the motel room and headed off at 1:52pm. As I was exiting the motel, I ran into a motel maintenance worker, Jesse, who was impressed with my plans for this trip. He grabbed a coworker to take a picture of us together. And, of course, wished me well.

Walmart was only a short ride north from the motel. After picking up the pills, I did shopping for a few other items, including laundry soap. I have some laundry soap sheets with me, but at the rate I'm washing clothes, they're not going to last the trip. The closest thing I could find at Walmart that might work looked like a big bar of soap. You're supposed to cut chunks off the end and throw them in the washing machine. It's heavy, but I'll give it a try. Also bought some Gatorade for freezing. That worked well last time I did it. One other item was a jug of punch for the gallon container, to replace the one that has a hole in it. I've been drinking some of that punch today, but there'll be more to drink on the road tomorrow.

With reports posted for past days, I took a break at 5:55pm for supper at Braum's Ice Cream and Hamburgers. It was a short walk from the motel to the other side of I-27. I discovered Braum's on a previous bike trip. I like their food. Had chili, a small hamburger, and a medium size strawberry shake.

Back at the motel I decided to do laundry, even though I only had one set of dirty/muddy clothes. This gave me a chance to try out my new soap. Seems like it worked OK at cleaning the clothes.

My bike's rear tire feels like it's lost some air. I'll deal with that in the morning. One last task for this evening: shave off this month-old beard. Aah, that's better!

Jeff

Spent: $69.78 plus $5 (motel room) + $12.76 (Gatorade, wipes, gallon jug, laundry soap) + $11.12 (supper) + $2.75 (laundry) = $101.41

Heart 4 Comment 2
Mike AylingBeard doesn't look too bad!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
Thanks. I figure it'll look the same again in another month.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamDo you secure your bike before going inside places, or is safe to leave it without locking?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
I do have a lock and cable with me, but I can't recall the last time I used it. There'd be no quick get-away on my overloaded bike! If the bike had been empty, I might have locked it up, if I was going to be in the store for a long time.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltPlainview... As in plain sight? :-)
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Yes. I could see it from miles away before I got there. It's flat here.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago