Day 30 - ending at Plainview, TX - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

Day 30 - ending at Plainview, TX

Day 30 - Quitaque, TX to Plainview, TX
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up at 5:20am to 15 minutes of drizzle. Got up at 5:40am. I wasn't going to repeat yesterday's late start, so I skipped report writing, packed, and left at 8:06am. A cow started munching on grass where my tent had been as I left. An apparent escapee, for this trail area is fenced off.

I had a few miles of this weedy trail left to do, then I'd be through with it. Accept the road alternative when I got to it was worse than the trail. So I was off it and on it again. When I got to the road that would get me to Quitaque, it was blocked by a big mud hole. At least the trail has a bridge over this low spot, but there was no way to get back on the road after I crossed the bridge. The trail was decent for a while. Then it was back to riding through the grass and weeds. When I was still on the trail, just a short distance from town, I met up with a tractor pulling a mower. He was getting ready to cross a bridge but backed off to let me through. Riding on the mowed trail was much easier, but I didn't have far to go now.

Arrived in Quitaque at 9:15am. Ended up at The Coffee Mill for breakfast. I ordered both their Breakfast Quesadillas and an English Muffin Sandwich. Also had coffee and a cookie. They had an outlet nearby the table I was sitting at, so I charged up my phone. Then I used their wifi to post the report from two days ago. The owner of the place sat down with me. I was eating a little slow because of my tooth, but it was feeling better. I so enjoyed our conversations. It was interesting to hear about his career and the hard work he's put in. Talking with him and others, it is obvious that the days where you could work for one company your whole career are long gone. But these folks are flexible.

When talking about my route, the owner said the trail is good from here to South Plains. I'd just figured out before he'd sat down the highway route I'd take to get to Floydada, where I was going to get a motel room. The owner suggested I go to the trailhead and take a look. Though, I've seen trails that look fine at the trailhead, but then get worse as I go.

I wasn't sure what I was going to do when I left The Coffee Mill, but I did go to the trailhead, after picking up two Gatorades from Allsup's in town. The trail did look OK, at least here. I didn't want to miss seeing the prettiest part of the trail, so I started down the path at 11:00am. The trail stayed in good condition as I went, so the owner was correct.

Today's noon mileage report is 9.0 miles.

I arrived at Monk's Crossing trailhead at 12:20pm. There was a car in the parking lot, so I assumed that somebody was on the trail. There's a tunnel on this trail - The Clarity Tunnel. I arrived at its entrance at 1:20pm. Bats live in the tunnel. Signposts ask that you move through quietly, walk your bike, and stir up as little dust as possible. I passed two girls hiking in the tunnel. They were on their way back to the car. Of course, we didn't say much, but one of them did whisper that it was easier to get through on the side they were walking on. Easier because the bat guano wasn't piled as high there.

There was still a lot of beauty to be seen after the tunnel and I was enjoying it without having to constantly keep my eyes on where I pointed my bike tires.

At 1:55pm I took a break for a Clif Bar. I'd lost one of the two bottles of Gatorade I'd bought this morning. I felt bad for littering, but maybe one of the girls will see it and pick it up. It was still unopened.

At 3:29pm, I was at John Faris Station, the place yesterday morning that I'd hoped to camp at last night. There was a lot of uphill pedaling toward the end of the trail, but I did make it out of the canyon and onto the flat plain area at 4:15pm. I arrived in the town of South Plains at 4:49pm. There's not many people left in this town, but there sure are plenty of ferocious mosquitoes and flies. There has apparently been a lot of rain here lately, for most all the farmers' fields had ponds in them.

I had the option now to go either to Floydada to the south or Plainview to the west. The mosquitoes were making it hard to stop and check Google Maps for routes and motels. I let the wind determine which way to go. Wind was from the southeast, so I went west to Plainview. Mosquitoes and flies were with me all the way - not when I was riding, but every time I stopped. Stopping even for a quick drink of water was a problem, let alone search for motels.

Arrived at the Plainview city limits at 7:31pm. I'd settled on a motel by looking up its information as I was riding before I got into town. Couldn't do that if I was driving. I guess I could have waited until I got into town, because the mosquitoes and flies weren't a problem there.

Google Maps had the location of my chosen motel completely confused. It just wasn't there. So I picked another, but they were full. Then I passed the real location for first one, and they were full. Finally, I called the Super 8 in town. They had a room available, so I headed to the west side of town. All settled in room #134 at 8:33pm.

I was hungry, but even more so, thirsty. There's an IHOP right next door to the motel, so I went over and had supper. My waitress patiently refilled my Dr Pepper three times. Finally after supper, I got my "I've arrived" email composed and sent. Of course, next it was a shower. Finally in bed at 12:10am.

What a varied day I had. And I would have missed the best part of it if it hadn't been for the owner of The Coffee Mill sitting down with me. Another blessing.

Jeff

Spent: $15.26 plus $3.05 (breakfast) + $4.96 (Gatorade) + $69.78 plus $5 (motel room) + $16.32 plus $4 (supper) = $118.37

Quitaque in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back at a section of trail I missed while on the road.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Quitaque trailhead for Caprock Canyons Trailway.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltCatclaw briar

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/127390-Mimosa-nuttallii
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelBill,
Thank you so much for all your identification information. I'm learning a lot from you, as are others, I'm sure.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,297 miles (2,087 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mary LermanYour photos are amazing!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelMary,
Thanks!
Being in a beautiful area helps.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago