Day 32 - ending at Lubbock, TX - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2023

Day 32 - ending at Lubbock, TX

Day 32 - Plainview, TX to Lubbock, TX
Heart 0 Comment 0

I worked on yesterday's report after getting up at 4:55am this morning. Had a cup of coffee from the motel's breakfast area, then unloaded the bike so I could get it outside to look at the rear tire. A truck tread wire was the problem. I patched the tube, then scraped mud off the inside of the fenders. There was a lot. Since I had a motel room sink that I could fill with water, I patched the tube I'd replaced on the trail a few days ago. It had three holes.

I checked out of the motel at 10:20am, then walked the bike over to IHOP next door for breakfast. My destination today is the Lubbock KOA, which is located on the northwest side of Lubbock. I had no pre-trip routing for getting from Plainview to Lubbock, but it looked like heading south on the west-side access road for I-27 was the way to go. That was the road right in front of the motel and IHOP, so it was an easy start at 10:50am.

I passed a business - Panhandle Popcorn. They were open so I went in. They do have a small retail business, but mostly are set up to service other businesses.

The wind was from the west northwest so I had a slight tailwind and was making good time. Noon report is 8.4 miles.

At 12:27pm I arrived at Hale Center. They have a nice park here, so I took a break in the shade. I was still following the access road - there was almost no traffic and even I-27 to the left wasn't too busy, so it wasn't a noisy ride.

I came to a rest area for southbound I-27. There isn't a road from the access road I was on to the rest area, but it was easy enough to get to on a bike, so I took a break there. Nice and cool inside.

Made it to Abernathy Dairy Queen at 2:50pm. Ordered their Fritos Chili Cheese Crunch and a large root beer float. The sandwich was kind of messy, but good.

I had options now on how to get to the KOA Campground - continue south on the access road, then go west, or go west now. The wind direction had changed to from the west and it was strong - about 20 mph with gusts to 34 mph. I knew it'd be slow going, but I headed out of Abernathy going west. Later there were jogs south and then back west. On one south leg I decided to try out a Texas dirt road. It worked OK mostly, except at the very sandy sections. The wind was stirring up dust from fields. Fortunately I didn't end up in any of the dust clouds.

I was at the KOA entrance at 6:50pm, and at my assigned site, #65, at 7:02pm. The site has electricity, so that's a plus, and they've got wifi here. After I got set up I went back to the camp store for ice cream and a soda. Later in the evening I pulled out my bottle of seam sealer to work on the tent, but it looks like my bottle is defective - too old.

I worked on picture selection a little after that, but I was sort of tired, so went to bed at 10:15pm. A couple are camping next door to my site. Well, I guess camping. They have a hammock up, but it looks like they plan to sleep in their van. But before they do, they are watching a movie at their site. Anyway, between the movie noise and the highway noise, I put my ear plugs in and fell right to sleep.

Jeff

Spent: $13.41 plus $3 (breakfast) + $11.34 (lunch) + $36 (campsite) + $5.95 (ice cream, ginger ale) = $69.70

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Mike AylingThat's a lot of mud!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
Yes. Pictured is the front fender. The rear had even more.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,343 miles (2,161 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Ben LoweryReally enjoying following along with your adventure.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Ben LoweryBen,
Thanks! Glad to have you along.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago