Day 33 - ending at Brownfield, TX - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2023

Day 33 - ending at Brownfield, TX

Day 33 - Lubbock, TX to Brownfield, TX
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today wasn't going to as scenic as past days. It was basically get from Point A to Point B. I'd be heading southwest all day on highway US-62 to get to Brownfield, Texas. Once in Brownfield, I was going to see if there was a way I could tent camp in the city's park, which is set up for RV camping.

It was cold at 5:10am this morning when I got up, so I put on my jacket on for a while. I received a free coffee and donut from the camp store at 8:30am. Got report posted for yesterday. I was on my way at 10:37am.

I had a few miles routed going west and south to try to bypass the busier sections of the northwest side of Lubbock. It didn't take long for a detour to change those plans, and I ended up on a main road heading south straight to US-62. It wasn't too busy, probably because of the time of day. I saw there was a Cracker Barrel ahead. That would work for breakfast. Once inside, it felt like I was back home in Morton, eating out with my friends George and Kris. I ordered one of my favorite meals - Grandma's Sampler, plus sweet tea. As I left I received a cup of ice for my thermos.

Noon mileage was 7.8 miles. I wasn't real concerned, I had the mileage figured to Brownfield as 42.

Along this busier part of US-62 there's frontage/access roads. I rode on the access road for a while, then got on the main highway.

At 12:45pm I wondered why the steering was so wobbly, then realized I had a front tire flat. It was only a short walk across grass from the main highway shoulder to the access road, which would be a better place to work on the flat. It was actually a very nice place - next to a lake. Later I found out it is a city park of Wolfforth - Patterson Park. Once I got the tube removed, I walked down to the pond and put it under water. The patch I put on a few days ago was leaking! The patch was crinkled somewhat, and air was coming out at two different places. That got me wondering if the patches I am using are too old. I replaced the tube and was on my way 59 minutes later. But I didn't get far. I stopped at a pavilion in Patterson Park for break in the shade. Then I continued on the access road as far as it went until merging back onto the highway.

The wind was from the east and I was going southwest, so it was helping. I passed through Ropesville at about 3:25pm. I hit some sandy spots along the shoulder there and almost tipped over. A little farther down the road at 3:31pm, I realized I had a flat rear tire. This wasn't going to be as good a spot to work, though it did have shade. Once again I found nothing that would have caused the flat, but this was also a patched tube. And its patch was wrinkly. So I replaced the tube with a new one. This time I spent 71 minutes not moving.

When I got started again, I noticed the wind was now from the south. I had 17 miles to go. I have one of my longest days planned for tomorrow. I was thinking I would get to Brownsville early, get the report done, and be all ready for an early start in the morning. Now, I wasn't going to be in Brownfield that early, so decided to get a motel, to at least save the time that camping adds.

At 6:59pm, I arrived at Red Sands Motel. Got registered to stay in room #4. It's an older place that has a full kitchen, which I won't be using except to fill my water jug at the sink.

The motel owner said that the Mexican restaurant next door - Taqueria Jesus Maria - was a good place to eat, so I walked over there. Had Dinner #10: three quesadillas and sweet tea. It was very good, and just the right amount of food.

When I got back to the motel room, I put water in the sink and checked the rear tire tube removed this afternoon. It was leaking at its patch also! I have to admit this griped me a little. I only have one unpatched spare tube left. I need to find a different style of patch that will let me fix these inner tubes.

At 8:45pm I walked several blocks west to see if I could get a clear view of the sunset. Wasn't really able to.

I worked a little on picture selection for today's report they went to bed at 10:45pm, hoping to wake up early tomorrow morning for my long day.

Jeff

Spent: $1.79 (Gatorade) + $14.59 plus $4 (breakfast) + $55 plus $5 (motel room) + $17.32 plus $5 (supper) = $102.70

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamTwo flat tires, one right after the other is just not right! Sorry for this, but you do seem good at changing. Now to get some decent patches.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
I agree with you on everything, except I wish I had a shorter turn-around time.
Being this reply is a few days late, I'm able to tell you that I bought a glue-style patch kit today.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,383 miles (2,226 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltYou probably already know this, but it is going to start turning brown around you soon. Desert riding in the summer! That's how I grew up in Mojave, CA.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
I'm seeing that. It's all new to me.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago